We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very pleasant weekend break. Friendly efficient service. Excellent food. Sea view room spacious and comfortable . Good base for exploring Jurassic coast. Would definitely visit this hotel again and stay longer. Recommend room 12 for outstanding views

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snape1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 443 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed on a Sunday evening at the end of July (so getting into high season). Firstly, the hotel is pretty well appointed at the top of a hill on the road from Uplyme into Lyme Regis. This road leads straight down to the sea front and The Cobb! The hotel has decent private car parking facilities across the road. The staff were helpful and friendly and the bar, reception, lounge and restaurant facilities were nicely furnished, light and homely. There was a nice looking garden too but I didn't venture in there. My twin room for single occupancy was also nicely and smartly furnished. The breakfast was good as well as my dinner (good value too). Only two down marks are that the common passageways were in need of updating and my room was situated above the lounge and bar exit to the downstairs ladies loo facilities and a staff storage room. So there was a bit of noise until late and then early from swinging fire doors!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Mariners for two nights last month & had a very enjoyable stay. We were in Room 11 which had beautiful views of the sea & gardens. The room was comfortable & clean, it lacked a full length mirror which would have been nice & the shower was very hot, had to turn it right down to virtually nothing to get it cooler but other than that it was fine. We ate in the restaurant on the second night & had a lovely meal, our waiter Liam was very attentive & nothing was too much trouble. The only downsize is that it is quite a way up the steep hill, fine going down but back up was a bit of a treck, although you can walk down through the park which is more windy than steep.

Room Tip: Room 11 has lovely views of the sea & garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherwell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay at the Mariners Hotel, fantastic location and the view from our room was stunning. The food was brilliant and 2 nights simply wasn't long enough there.cannot wait to book and return again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppyclarke26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have to say, the staff are so accommodating and friendly. nothing too much trouble.
Had a 'light lunch' ... very generous portions, presented well and great value for money. Didn't have to eat for the remainder of the day!
The beauty room is a great addition to the hotel and the prices very competitive.
Highly recommended for a lunch and pamper with the girls!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 944Jules_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Should have booked a Sea View room at the back as the room we were alocated was at the front just above the entrance and was very noisy. Swelerting weather and had to keep the windows shut to keep out the noise.
Apart from that we had a lovely stay. We ate in the Hotel on one night and thought the food was excellent.
Nice garden for a sunny day with an Ice cold one :-).
Long walk back up very steep hill from the Beach/Town.

Room Tip: Noisey at the front book a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights (in room 10). Even though the weather was terrible, and we couldn't take advantage of the view, we enjoyed the comfort and food of the pub. The staff, particularly Les, were very customer focussed, and if we should ever visit that part of the world again, we will certainly stay there. Incidentally, we come from Australia, and found the place to be very quaint and quirky.

Room Tip: The room was good, but the bed was a tad too small. The en suite was acceptable, but the shower coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $150 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing