We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“French Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a lovely meal at the Mariners Hotel this week on one of their 'theme nights'. The food came as three small main courses with a choice of extras, which gave a great choice of classic French dishes - cassoulet, bouillabaise and cougette fritters with pistou. We've been to the Mariners a few times for lunch or dinner and it really is fantastic every time. The garden is lovely in the summer, there is a comfy lounge and a bar or restaurant to eat in. The staff are always friendly and helpful, creating a lovely relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy a meal or just a drink.
Thanks all of you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    153
    58
    24
    9
See reviews for
48
244
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were a little disappointed by the room as it looked smaller than it had on the website but it had lovely views and the bedroom itself was clean enough. The bathroom was very small and unfortunately could have been cleaner. Overall the hotel felt a little shabby and in need of some TLC however the food was lovely and the friendly welcome from Les on front of house made up for any disappointment with the standard of the room. In fact all of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Apparently if you call the hotel directly you get a better choice of rooms than booking through a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Happened to drive passed the hotel and see they were offering a themed Wednesday evening meal - only just managed to book in for the four of us - Spanish night - great food, great service and would highly recommend and visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for a Friday night and had a room on the roadside. Lovely room with lots of character. Steep walk down the hill to sea front, but that was fine. Fish resaurant halfway down the hill was brilliant. Pleasant and helpful staff. We had a perfect stay. This is not modern luxury, just a delightful hotel with a good position and plenty of character.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I wanted to extend our stay in lym Regis at the last minute, we were recommended the mariners by the staff at our original hotel, they did not have a vacancy so we chose the mariners hotel. The guy told us we ad the last room, which didn't seem to be the case once we were there. The hotel staff ere lovely and th gardens and lounge/dining areas were very nice. The rooms not quite so, I understand there is little they can do about uneven floors or low ceilings in buildings as old as this, but the shower needed some attention and the mattress was not as comfy as many hotels I have stayed in. The room was small but had great views and it was clean. The food in the hotel was scrummy and breakfast did not disappoint. We thought it was overpriced for the room even with the great view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our third year dining at The Mariners Hotel while on holiday in Lyme Regis. Visited here on three consecutive evenings. As on our previous visits we had very good food cooked to perfection and served to us by pleasant and courteous staff. We were a little disappointed that they were unable to provide us with a snack on the Sunday as they only served a cooked lunch. However, we would definitely dine there again when we are next in Lyme Regis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from 7th - 9th September 2012. Please find below our plusses and minuses for the Hotel.

Positives
Fantastic views.
Well kept garden.
Very pleasant breakfast room.
Good tasty breakfast (I had smoked haddock and it was excellent).
Very good powerful shower.

Negatives
Bed linen was too small for the matress so plastic undersheet and sheet moved around and uncovered the matress.
We had a balcony and the view to the right was amazing across the sea but to the lfet was the duct from the kitchen (noisy and smelly) as well as peeling paint on the side of the building which was very unattractive.
Also on the balcony were 2 chairs with bird poo on and a few plastic plant containers full of weeds - this area REALLY needs sorting out!
A few mouldy patches in the shower cubicle.
And the most annoying thing - the VERY bright security light was on ALL night and kept us awake.
We also felt that the stair carpets needed replacing and the walls up the stairs need a lick of paint.

A few pounds spent on the hotel could so vastly improve it!

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the sea or you will I am sure hear the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
thank you taking the time to review us.

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotels gardens and views and the breakfast. The naturally smoked haddock is a favourite of mine also.

The exterior of the hotel is due to be decorated starting next week (8th October) weather permitting and I agree with you that it is long overdue. In our defence it was due to be started in the spring, but the adverse weather we had delayed the start of the redecoration so long we did not want to have scaffolding up around the hotel in the middle of summer, so we postponed it until after the summer season. With regards to the interior, the main staircase is repainted every year, but with all the cases carried up and down, banging off the walls it does get badly marked. We are hoping to re-carpet these areas over the winter as well.

I can only apologise that you didn’t enjoy the balcony.
The Kitchen duct is in an inconvenient place and I’m sorry if it disturbed you, Its boxed in as best it can be and we paid extra at the time of installation for a ‘silent’ fan so not as many people notice it. Unfortunately it is essential to the running of the kitchen as it links into the gas system, and we cannot use any gas appliances without it being switch on.
There were a few weeds in the pots but most of the plants are small privet and evergreen plants from ‘Animal Botanical’ in Seaton. Weeds have been removed. I’m afraid that the birds do sometime poo on the balcony, the chambermaids clean this area after each guest has left and all chairs are wiped down.
The security light switch is on the balcony just to the left of the firedoor. Its location given is in the guest information folder in room 1. I have spoken to the chambermaids to check it is switched off when they clean the rooms in the morning to avoid it happening again. If you had called the night service number – also in guest folder, the sleep over night staff would have come and switched it off immediately.

I hope I can welcome you back to the Mariners in the future, and this has not put you off planning your return trip.

Warm regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#25 of 47 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Property: Mariners Hotel
Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing