We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Hotel”
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mariners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were three adults and stayed in a "family room", normally for a couple with two children, The room was very nicely furnished, clean and especially the children's room was sweet, with books and toys. The rooms were small however and I felt a little overpriced. But the staff were so very friendly and helpful that we overlooked this. We felt the location was good as it was a gentle walk into town or to the Cobb (not such a gentle walk back though!) so we were out of the noisy town centre. The breakfast was excellent and the views from the garden and the back of the hotel were fantastic. There might be cheaper places to stay but the friendliness of the staff at the Mariners cannot be topped.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfasuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

Booked several months before after scrolling through various sites on the internet. Without any previous recommendations we struck lucky in that the staff and service were excellent, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. Also the food was of high quality and good value. We are looking forward to a return visit and definitely would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Sea views at back of hotel and probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here in August and had a very enjoyable time. We booked interconnecting rooms 5 and 6 which was easier for looking after two young children. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean and pleasant. Dinner at the hotel was good and the view from the garden was special. I would personally have liked to see a bolder approach to the decor in the rooms and especially in the dining room, which lacked character. I think even more people would come from outside to dine if this nice room had more of a boutique hotel feel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pepk152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was quirky and very English with it's low beamed ceilings and creaky narrow corridors. The staff were great and very attentive and chatty but the 'restaurant' food in the evening was pretty substandard and rated a 4 out of 10 on the Tricky scale. Breakfast was OK and our room quite nice at the back of the hotel looking out across the town and sea. The bed was really comfortable but the whole experience let down by the very dated restaurant - it deserves an average rating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickydickdicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Such lovely staff, the young manager is really good.When you book on line go for their £50 for two dinner option, amazing value and the food is great. The staff just cannot be more helpful and friendly. Chef is brill, and a good choice on the menu, scallops are wonderful and the crab salad.. Breakfast lovely and grease free!
Nice garden also., We had room 12, which had an amazing view and all so clean, very good shower. Only niggle in this room only a double bed and whilst I am small and my husband normal size, we are use to at least a king size bed, but really not worth worrying about. I understand that room 5 and 9 have king size beds, but not sure if they have sea view.
All in all really good value. Be prepared for steep hill walk up from the town. We would return anytime.

Room Tip: Try for room 9, or 12 if happy with a double bed not a king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally165228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Arrived mid morning and checked in almost straight away all the rooms were taken by our other relations,friends ,and guests of the wedding party that we were attending.Room was very clean and tidy but a bit small (this is a very old place)but just right for us as we only slept there .The food was very good and the breakfast was a real treat as they had many choices to choose from. The hotel is on a steep hill going down to the sea front ,and has plenty of car parking spaces .the hotel staff and managment were very good and catered to all our needs with a smile,Would go back and stay here

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelebehty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We booked a few days away with our daughter as we love Lyme and wanted to have comfortable accommodation. Unfortunately we would agree with the previous review in that the bed was dreadful and the shower "room" would be better described as a cupboard (the shower could have done with a good clean although it worked well). The rooms are very small (it's an old building, I know).

Unfortunately, on our first night there was a very noisy party in the bar below our room (the family room) and this kept us awake until midnight. We asked if it was possible to move but it was not.

On a more positive note, the food in the restaurant was good and the staff were very friendly. The decor and furnishings were all very nice but we expected a bit more comfort for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $150 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing