We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$199
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
$182
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
449
220
94
40
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
220
94
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teasea viewlyme baylovely hotelsconeswine listcar parkmain restaurantsunday lunchscallopsno liftrelaxing breaklovely gardenjurassic coastreturn visithigh standardold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 825 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra hotel for one night as a treat for our anniversary. We had the most amazing room, the sea view is priceless. We were lucky enough again as a treat to dine in the look out tower, this is something we won't ever forget, you truly are waited on and sipping champagne eating the best food over looking Lyme Bay was incredible, we really couldn't of asked for anything more! We will definitely be returning. All I would say is although the hotel is at the top end cost wise, it is value for money if you go for a Gould room and sea view. We cant wait to come back :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlottel1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

People say that there is no other hotel that even comes close in the area to The Alexandria.

If our dinner experience is anything to go by then the accommodation will also fit the title.

Its location is perfect - on the hill overlooking the famous Cobb harbour and Jurassic coast - with lovely gardens and sitting areas with great views.

Food was excellent although a little expensive for the size of portions (but that does help to keep the riff raff out!) and a choice of formal dining room or conservatory with adjacent bar.

Staff were lovely - efficient, helpful, friendly but politely courteous.

I cannot personally vouch for the rooms as we only went there for dinner but the hotel is beautifully decorated and it does have a good reputation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just had one night for my birthday and we really enjoyed it from the minute we wallked in. We remember it some years ago before it was done up as benig rather dowdy and old fashioned but now it is very pleasant indeed - obviously an old building but very nicely modernised now and tastefully decorated. The staff were all lovely, the room had a stunning view (make sure you get a sea view), the bed was excellent and the food was top class, both dinner and breakfast. We had previously eaten lunch at Mark Hix's place but wouldn't bother going there again. We will definitely be staying at the Alexandra again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had Sunday lunch today and it was a disappointment. The cocktails had still not arrived when the starters arrived! The roast lunch was OK but not memorable and expensive. The wine was spilt on the tablecloth when poured with no apollogy given No coffee was offered and so we didn't bother asking. It was as though the staff had no leadership and tried but without direction. The barman had no idea how to make cocktails, admitted it and did not add them to the bill. I felt sad that this hotel had the best location and the possibility to be amazing, but just couldn't make it because of poor management and training. There was not a single manager or maitre d evident during the 3 hours it took to serve lunch!

Room Tip: We only ate here, no room but it was not promising!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great team made us very welcome even from booking stage . Location and gardens excellent . Pre dinner drinks and evening meal all very enjoyable as was breakfast . The dogs loved it to . Hope to return .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmetzstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews