We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Birthday break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We decided to use this hotel again because they are dog friendly and we opted for a room with a patio. The rooms are nice and clean with modern facilities, these are built into the extension, where as some of the rooms are in the older part of the hotel. We had a wonderful sea view and the hotel is only about 200m from the sea front, those who are less ambulant, please be aware that the hotel is on the main st. hill. Then again most of Lyme Regis and the surrounding areas are built into the hills and cliffs. The food at this hotel is amazing, I could not fault it at all. I did have a glass of wine on my birthday, and expect to pay around £17 for a bottle of wine which is the usual going rate in a hotel. There is a good size swimming pool and sauna. Also look out for any special offers they may have. We will be back.

Room Tip: A patio room is on the seaview side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Susanne S

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I always delighted when any of our guests commend the hotel, however even more so when we have had an opportunity to welcome a canine friend too.

I was so please to read you felt the food was amazing, that the wine you enjoyed for your birthday was good value and that you found your patio room to be nice, clean and to have the modern facilities you required. I was also glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy our 45 ft indoor pool and sauna room during your visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and I hope to be able to welcome you back to The Royal Lion Hotel once again very soon.

Kind regards

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    204
    50
    17
    4
See reviews for
99
346
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great way to start the New Year. A great meal and dancing. Yhe Royal Lion staff pulled out all the stops and made it a very pleasant stay. A relaxed atmosphere and all our needs catered for. The ambience of the dining room was in keeping with this lovelly old building. The spa and pool are welcoming as are the bar and lounges in this very clean and cosy hotel. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshmike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Welshmike_11

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your New Year celebrations, the food, and dancing.

I was so pleased you felt that the team had pulled out all the stops, created a relaxed atmosphere, and that they had managed to cater to all your needs. I will of course pass on your kind comments to all the team involved in making your time with us so pleasant.

I hope we will get an opportunity welcome you back on many future occasions.

Kind regards

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you Royal Lion for another lovely much needed break between Xmas and new year....the trauma of the journey on the flooded railways was soon forgotten, and the traditional room I stayed in just perfect! I will be back again soon!

Room Tip: The traditional rooms are lovely and in the oldest part of the hotel - very quirky and slanted floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Judy B
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent visit to The Royal Lion Hotel, I was delighted to read your comments regarding your stay, and so pleased we were able to help you to relax and enjoy your time away, even after the dreadful weather we had been suffering.

As always I will pass on you feedback to all member of the team who were involved in ensuring you stay was just "perfect".

I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked the Royal Lion as a night away between Christmas and the New Year, we love the town of Lyme Regis. The hotel had everything we wanted, great pool, sauna and spa to relax in the afternoon, our room was superb, the staff were very pleasant, the breakfast served in the morning could not be beaten, value for money was fantastic, will book this hotel next time we visit Lyme Regis

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel, I was most delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed your time with us at this special time of year.

I was also very glad you felt that the hotel facilities, service and food where of such a good standard. I will of course pass on your comments to all the members of the team who made a contribution to ensuring your stay was so memorable.

Thank you once again taking the time to give me your positive feedback and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mark Dridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife & I stayed here following on from our stay at the Old Rectory in Chicklade.
The hotel is wonderfully traditional and in a fantastic location close to the sea.
Our room had wonderfull views and was furnished to a high standard with all modern ameinities.
We ate in the restaurant and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Compliments to the Chef.
It was also good that there was free secure car parking off the main road.
Great stay, friendly staff, and excellent food, what more could one want with the sea and walks just seconds away.
Thank you for a great break

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view - Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Royal Lion Hotel, I was most delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed your time with us.

I was so pleased you felt your room was furnished to a high standard, that both dinner and breakfast were excellent, and also that you found the staff friendly, we really do our utmost to ensure you have the best possible experience during you time with us.

I will of course pass on your comments to all the members of the team who made a contribution to ensuring your stay was so memorable.

Thank you once again taking the time to give me your positive feedback and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked the weekend in the summer when we were staying in a cottage in Lyme and have been looking forward to the experience ever since. We arrived on Friday 23rd November 2012 and from the moment we booked in until the time we booked out on Sunday morning we had one of the best weekends we have ever had staying in a hotel. From the helpful and courteous staff to the excellent accommodation and the high quality food the whole package was just brilliant. To top it all off the murder mystery evening was really enjoyable and we can't wait for the next one in the new year. I am sure that other members of our family will want to come along with us to the next event.

Room Tip: We booked a traditional room and found it to be very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you taking the time to complete a review of the recent murder mystery weekend at The Royal Lion Hotel, Lyme Regis. I was delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed your time with us.

I was please to read that you felt the staff and accommodation were excellent, and the food of a high quality and that you really enjoyed the murder mystery evening. I will of course pass on your positive comments to all the team who ensured your stay was so memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Royal Lion Hotel, in the New Year.

Yours sincerely


Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our room was comfortable with a good ensuite bathroom. We had a meal in the bar and it was tasty and reasonably priced. There was a good selection for breakfast, including fresh fruit salad. The staff were all very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at The Royal Lion Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent visit to The Royal Lion Hotel, I was delighted to read your positive comments about your time with us.

I was glad you felt the room was comfortable and that the ensuite bathroom was of a good standard. I was also pleased to learn your meal in the bar was tasty and reasonably priced and that there was a good selection for breakfast, the staff were all very pleasant and that you thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I will of course pass on you feedback to all the team members involved in making your visit so memorable.

Thank you once again for you feedback, and I look forward welcoming you back to The Royal Lion Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mark Dridge MIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lion Hotel

Property: The Royal Lion Hotel
Address: 60 Broad Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the idyllic town of Lyme Regis, 'the Pearl of Dorset', is the Royal Lion Hotel, a stunning haven located in the middle of the High Street, with its own private car park. Lyme Regis is a picturesque town on the West Dorset border, part of the Jurassic Coast, a World Heritage site. Steeped in history, it is renowned for its fascinating past, mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086, the unique fossils found in the cliffs and beaches, and for being the central location of the novel and the 1981 film, 'The French Lieutenant's Woman'. Situated less than 100 metres from the sea, the Royal Lion Hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the locale. Built in 1601 as a coaching inn, the Hotel has been extensively refurbished, yet still retains much of its history and unique charm. Oak beams, wood panelling and open fires help to create a warm, welcoming and comfortable atmosphere, with new additions of its own swimming pool and other facilities. Wi-Fi, although not available in the bedrooms, is available to guests in several areas of the hotel. Privately owned and managed, the Royal Lion Hotel has gained an enviable reputation for its friendly service, world class food and wine and leisure offerings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Lyme Regis
Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis
The Royal Lion Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing