We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In response to the entry below which in our opinion is unjustified in it’s severity!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Ranked #24 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013

As the entry below was from a member of our family party we feel it necessary to give what we consider to be a more balanced viewpoint.

Firstly and possibly most importantly, this is a 200 year old building with character and no comparison to a modern hotel should be made but we do agree that some aspects could do with a revitalisation.

These guests were the last to arrive so they probably got the last choice of room available that night, from a collective booking of four rooms for that night, increasing to six rooms for the following two nights. All the room's facilities were clearly stated on the web site so it was just pot luck which room was left available for them.

The bedding is a justified comment as we ourselves (in our 60’s) really struggled with the weight and restriction of the tucked in sheets and blankets. However both the bedding and the bed was of a good quality and the bed covering (duvet or blankets) could be just down to taste.

The breakfast menu was extensive and cooked to order but not always to everyone’s liking. Fresh fruit, cereals and yogurts were available every morning for those who did not want a cooked breakfast, along with orange and tomato juice as well as the usual tea and coffee. Goats milk was also specially supplied as a part of this guests dietary requirements.

We found the owners very friendly, helpful, courteous and accommodating, especially while trying to arrange this six room family Birthday celebration break with all the difficulties associated with a fluid situation as to when busy party members can arrive as well as late changes to party numbers.

They were very helpful in recommending restaurants for our special celebrations and showing us an example of a room while on a fact finding visit a month earlier.

Wi-fi was available in all rooms and ours was pleasent, bright and comfortable for our needs.

We understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion but using the word terrible and advising others as 'dont stay here' in the room selection tips is unjust and uncalled for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I don't enjoy writing reviews like this but I have to share our experience. We stayed here for 3 days for a weekend away, with the family. On arrival to the B&B the owner seemed a little annoyed that we had arrived so late - 8pm. The rooms are stuck in the 1930 with a serious need for modernisation and general up keep. The beds are so uncomfortable and they don't use duvets but use layers of sheets and blankets which is just so annoying - this shows the 'age' of the place. We didn't have a proper shower only a bath with a shower fitted to a very low wall, so to have a shower you had to sit down in the bath! How ridiculous! Breakfast was bearable, just, but I didn't choose the cooked, my husband did and most mornings he was disappointed. We were told that there was a bar and a lounge area but it was not set up so you could feel comfortable or relaxed. The whole place had a very strange smell and to top it all it's not cheap, we paid about £95 a night! I can't understand some of the other reviews. We would never return.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CSomersetBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here on a 4 day break with my Wife. The house itself is an old thatched cottage which keeps much of its original features with an interesting and mature garden. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and efficient serving breakfast which was excellent. The rather mismatched furniture gives the place a more homely atmosphere than you would get in a hotel chain where all the rooms are made from an identikit package. I would definitely recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our whole experience with this family run B&B/hotel has been very positive.From the initial booking telephone call to our departure, we experienced nothing but courteous, helpful,and friendly service.
We stayed for 3 nights in family room No 1 and found all the facilities clean and acceptable, bearing in mind the constraints of a very old and thatched propertyThe breakfasts were something to look forward to, and freshly cooked to order,served by pleasant young ladies.
It was not until the last morning that I discovered how to open the window!! my fault entirely and young Mr Davis was very kind with this reviewers's ignorance!
one small point is the bedside light fixture is loose and needs attention.

Room Tip: Do not expect an all mod cons boutique hotel,just a charming cottage offering clean rooms and a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely B&B in a lovely town, very nice proprietors. Lovely building but the decor is a little tired but doesn't ruin your stay. The accommodation is adequate. I would recommend this B&B for its location and very friendly owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have just stayed here with my art group of 14. No one complained. We all appreciated its quirky side, yes, some of the furniture was worn (in the lounge) but this was accepted as part of it's being different. The staff were all very good, the breakfast was lovely, we all got together and agreed all our rooms were clean. I don't want a stark, cold room with no character, the kersbrook was individual, unique, warm and above all the service was excellent, the owner especially friendly and welcoming. I think it boils down to what you want. This is an individual b&b, we all found our rooms to be clean and warm and different. Appreciate it's quirkiness or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a very late booking and the only room available was the family room. I was very shocked upon our arrival to find that the room was not only very tired but also dirty. The curtains had mould on.The ensuite bathroom was definately not clean ( note the dirty towel rail and hair on rear of door).
The only storage for hanging clothes in the room smelt musty.The bed was uncomfortable and the headboard needed to be fixed properly.
The price was for a 4 star room however I was really disappointed with what we got for our money, I would struggle to give it any stars and for people who have been in the hospitality business for many years as the owners appear to have been, I would expect more.
I shall return to Lyme Regis as it is a lovely place but I definately will never stay at this place ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Coljoy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#9 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charnwood Guest House
Charnwood Guest House
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kersbrook Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kersbrook Guest Accommodation

Address: Pound Rd, Lyme Regis DT7 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range: $133 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kersbrook Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Kersbrook Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kersbrook Guest Hotel Lyme Regis
Kersbrook Hotel Lyme Regis
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing