We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay more down by the seafront?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holmbush Cafe

Holmbush Cafe
Ranked #44 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Why pay more down by the seafront?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visited 28th June. We parked at the top car park having shunned the overpriced park and ride.
Spotted the Holmbush cafe and noticed the quality of the food and the reasonable prices.
We walked down the hill to the Cobb and along the seafront. On the way we checked out other cafés and food outlets and they were more expensive. So, on return to the car park we sat down to a delicious baguette and crab sandwiches, all for under £10. The premises are spotless and the service friendly. Additionally the salad that came with the food was crisp and fresh.
No hesitation in recommending this car park cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the humble setting - this is a real gem of a cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We've just returned from a holiday in Lyme Regis. We had a hungry toddler to feed so we tried this cafe as it was so close to our holiday apartment. So glad we did. Such lovely service with amazing homemade cakes, jams and chutneys. Real attention to the little details and we (our 18 month old included) were made to feel so welcome. The English Breakfast was perfectly cooked with good ingredients and the raspberry and white chocolate cake was the best cake I have had in ages.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
189 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great cafe at the top of a long hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I am so glad that there is an opportunity to rate this cafe. We had to park in the top car park at Lyme Regis last weekend, and walk back up to it in the (most welcome) blazing sunshine. There we found this cafe with a sign saying "Well done you've made it! Now come in for a drink" (or similar). So we did. We started off by buying a couple of bottles of water but then bought a scone with jam and cream (to explain a cream tea to our Aussie friend) and then a brownie (to take home to my wife). All the cakes looked lovely but we had eaten a large lunch only a couple of hours earlier.

Now that I know about this cafe, I think that (on the rare occasions I visit Lyme Regis) I will park in this car park just to visit the cafe again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Who would believe an experience like this in a car park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

David and his wife provide excellent homemade cakes for afternoon tea and his Blackcurrant Jam is to die for. This added to the view across Lyme Bay make for an unreal experience, make sure you visit you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fantastic cafe at the top car park in Lyme. I visit often when I am out at work and am always met with a friendly welcome, an excellent espresso and a tasty cake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holmbush Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Holmbush Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing