We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"an unexpected delight"”
Review of Cobb Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cobb Arms
Ranked #17 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Southwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“"an unexpected delight"”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Lyme Regis was a spur of the moment stop on the way to Cornwall but we'll be back specifically because of The Cobb Arms. Clean, comfortable room, helpful, friendly staff and the best breakfast you can imagine. Add to that a view of the sea and sunshine - lovely!

Room Tip: We loved Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    70
    29
    16
    22
See reviews for
83
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and my partner are a young couple, we dont have any children but we do have two staffordshire bull terriers who are very much part of our family. We found it extremly difficult to find a B&B in Lyme Regis that would allow us to take dogs into the rooms (or accomadate the dogs at all) and we had almost given up hope and nearly decided to travel back home to Bude, Cornwall that same day when we came accross The Cobb Arms. The staff were welcoming when we entered and had no queries about the dogs.
We stayed in room 3, the room wasn't massive but it was very clean and decor was modern and tasteful. The shower was amazing! Better than my one at home! There was a partial sea view which for me is a bonus and there was a flatscreen tv.
We decided to eat at The Cobb that night. I thought the specials boards had been written well and didnt know what to choose as it all sounded delicious! I had the scallops which were cooked in a delicious creamy sauce mmmmmm! My partner had the steak which was cooked perfectly to his liking. As we had to walk past the kitchen to get to the room I could see that, although quite small it did seem very clean. That night we stayed at the bar and had a couple of drinks. I thought it was really good to see the landlord staying on at the end of the night to lock up. He was really friendly and spoilt the dogs with a bag of pork scatchings. The locals were friendly too and we really enjoyed the atmosphere.
Breakfast was really good too, there was so much choice of fresh fruit and cereals. Then full breakfast which was very nice. I thought it was good that we got our own jug of orange juice so we didnt have to share with the other guests. The dogs were spoilt again when the lady serving breakfast gave them each a small bowl of chopped up sausage... a very sweet gesture which went down very well!
Overall we had a fantastic experiance at The Cobb Arms. A godsend for couples wanting to holiday with their pooches! Prime location although parking is an issue, but we just parked in the car park at the top of the hill for £1.70 for a day, we didnt need the car as everything we wanted to see was just a short walk away from the pub.
Thank you The Cobb Arms for making our trip to Lyme Regis an unforgetable one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyWest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friends and I stopped in the Cobb Arms after trekking 30 miles from Exmouth training for a charity walk. Needless to say, by the time we got to the pub, we could barely stand up!

The decor and ambiance were lovely. The pub has a large selection of ciders, lagers and real ales and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The food was brought out promptly and was tasty and great value. Good quality pub grub and large portion sizes.

Just what we needed, thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nw12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely meal here during a weekend stay in Lyme Regis, the pub is right next to the Cobb and has plenty of seating inside and out. the food was very nice and very good value for money, a huge plate full. the staff were pleasant and helpful. we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A spur of the moment trip
found the cob to be excellent
rooms were well presented clean and comfortable
Food menu was excellent with lots of local produce used
Breakfast was excellent
freshly cooked with a view over the harbour
we really enjoyed our stay and will undoubtably return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great menu, friendly service. Dogs very welcome, our 2 year old cocker spaniel agreed with me that the mixed grill was delicious.
Teenage son said menu was full of choice for him, wants to return tomorrow, is the highest compliment that he can give.
Daughter loved the puddings menu.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a weekend in our favourite beautiful Lyme Regis to among other things watch the rugby that was to say the least, poor viewing! followed by an excellent curry at Lal Quilla. The Cobb Arms and staff were fab lovely welcome, lovely rooms, brilliant shower, yummy comfortable bed, slept really well. The breakfast was fantastic, great selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, followed by a hearty full english and toast, and lastly, Lyme, of course as usual the sun shone and was totally wonderful, love it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have views of the cobb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineW131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
2.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Arms

Property: Cobb Arms
Address: 29 Marine Parade, Lyme Regis DT7 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobb Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cobb Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Arms Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing