We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Black Dog
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
52
12
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomsconescream teaclean decorb bhome madesitting roompatteasgelsgardenlymedevonjamcleanliness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 68 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stopped in for a meal and were so pleased with the food. We had a wonderful carrot soup and tea from their excellent selection. We also enjoyed a dessert made from sponge cake and whipped cream filling. Then we sat around and spoke with the owner of the B&B and the young couple in the tea room. They gave us lots of great information about Lyme Regis which really enhanced our visit there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tosca1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you’re looking for a traditional homely B&B I couldn’t recommend The Old Black Dog more. Pat and Peter are very welcoming and suggested we take a walk down the lane behind the B&B rather than the main road in to town. I highly recommend this! It was a very scenic route and a lovely way to start exploring Lyme Regis. Fantastic breakfast and one of the cleanest bathrooms I’ve ever seen!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellabella80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A great place to stay. comfortable rooms, well behaved dogs welcome and our old black dog loved her breakfast sausage. Breakfast was always superb with a friendly welcome and the added benefit of attached tea room.

1  Thank Leslovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a lovely little B&B - Pat and Peter are lovely hosts, friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable, bright and clean (and a lovely view as an extra bonus). No, it's not a sleek, modern hotel room - it's a classic, homely B&B with a comfortable bed and an en-suite that is simple and offers all one can need. Parking is ample and the well maintained gardens are a real delight.

For £40 single occupancy rate you also get a fantastic freshly cooked breakfast, great local sausages, bacon and eggs with all the trimmings, washed down with plenty of fresh coffee and orange juice. Pat and Peter are exactly the sort of hosts you'd want in a B&B, providing an excellent and friendly service and offering some good tips as to where to visit and nice walks down to the sea front.

I will definitely be back again for a wedding scheduled for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 (where I stayed) and room 6 (where friends in the same group stayed) offer beautiful views over the valley.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidstoneJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was so impressed with The Old Black Dog. Pete and Pat so welcoming and added to the lovely stay we had. Rooms spacious and had everything you needed, even coffee and biscuits for the morning and all the toiletries you need in the en suite. Maps of Lyme Regis, all tourist info etc.. All the small touches (such as sweets in pots dotted around the place!) The cleanliness was impeccable. Breakfast brilliant, great quality food and a lot of choice. The tra room attached had fabulous home made cakes too! Location really good - two minutes drive from the centre of Lyme or a 15 minute walk. And room number 6 gorgeous view! I would not hesitate to stay there again and will definitely be recommending them! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews