We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of The Old Black Dog

The Old Black Dog
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Black Dog
Ranked #21 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was so impressed with The Old Black Dog. Pete and Pat so welcoming and added to the lovely stay we had. Rooms spacious and had everything you needed, even coffee and biscuits for the morning and all the toiletries you need in the en suite. Maps of Lyme Regis, all tourist info etc.. All the small touches (such as sweets in pots dotted around the place!) The cleanliness was impeccable. Breakfast brilliant, great quality food and a lot of choice. The tra room attached had fabulous home made cakes too! Location really good - two minutes drive from the centre of Lyme or a 15 minute walk. And room number 6 gorgeous view! I would not hesitate to stay there again and will definitely be recommending them! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is an establishment that cares for their guests, not in an overbearing or fussy way - just tip-top professionalism. From the traffic advice prior to arrival, charming greeting for both myself and the dog, shown how everything works in the room, great choice of teas and coffee in the room, good wi-fi (unusual in this area) and good information on walks. The room and breakfast all first class. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying here about twice a year for the past 4 years without our two kids. The family room has bunks and a double with an ensuite and is always clean and warm. Pat and Peter are the perfect hosts and their breakfasts are fantastic. This year we have also taken friends and our vegetarian extended family and everyone has commented on how great it is. The walk from the back of the car park takes you straight into Lyme Regis along the river which is beautiful and they now have a tea room for when you get back from a day on the beach.

Room Tip: The family room is great for small kids but they also have a twin and a double and this year they pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneOgden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked at the last minute, direct with Peter and Pat. They were both extremely accommodating and welcoming. We were offered a cup of tea in the downstairs dining room as soon as we arrived (roaring log fire, very welcoming in January) while we signed in, and were then shown to the room.

The family room fronts onto the road (which is a B road and very quiet). The en-site is of good quality with separate shower cubicle, bath, wash basin and lavatory. Lovely fluffy towels and a good supply of bathroom requisites. The double bed was extremely soft and comfortable. No complaints from the kids over the bunk beds either!

The B&B has a car park to the side of the house, which is extremely useful. It is very nearly a mile from the house to the beach (so more than ten minutes to walk for us). We selected this B&B because they took both our dogs at no charge. Peter & Pat were very happy for us to have them in our room, just required that they weren't left in the room by themselves (which is fair enough)

The breakfast was excellent, we could have almost anything we wanted with plenty of quantity as well. This B&B was excellent and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We had the family room with a very comfy double and a set of bunk beds for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here over the half term break with our two children. They had the twin room and we had the double next door, both with en suite shower rooms. The rooms were small but comfortable and warm. Pat and Peter, the hosts, were wonderfully welcoming and cooked us all a delicious hearty breakfast every day.

It's a bit of a way out of Lyme Regis itself, but only a 15-20 minute walk which can either be done along the road, or across the fields at the back of the property and then along the stream down into town. This was great fun coming home late at night in the moonlight!

The downsides are that the decor is a bit tired, and the chimney in the sitting room blows the smoke back in sometimes, but I'm only mentioning these for completeness. It's a lovely little place and we'll certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climate_criminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Exactly the type of B&B experience that I was after. Lovely and warm feeling to the place. More than ample parking, good location and an excellent breakfast. Room is fine, good sized bed and well stocked tea and coffee making facilities. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night and it was just fine. The owners were very welcoming and offered us tea and coffee on arrival which was nice. It is easy to find. The room had a shower and bath and the bathroom was big. The room was also nice. Be aware though this is an "old school" B7B/guest house so it is not decorated in a contempory style. That said it is nice. The breakfast was cooked from fresh and big. Just what you want with plenty of tea/toast/coffee. We certainly had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDuke666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
1 mi away
Clovelly Guest House
Clovelly Guest House
#12 of 45 in Lyme Regis
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#10 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
401 reviews
1 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#23 of 45 in Lyme Regis
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Black Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Black Dog

Address: Lyme Road | Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Black Dog Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing