We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Highlight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhododendron House B&B
Ranked #18 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday Highlight”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

5 stars for genuine warmth and informality. Mark, Zoe and family made our short stay one of the highlights of our holiday. The room was charming. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. I only wish we could have stayed longer to experience more of their amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
30
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the weekend and right from the start we were made to feel very welcome. We arrived late after a very a very long journey and were warmly greeted by Mark and Zoe who went out of their way to helped us to get settled in. We had booked a family room but needed extra bedding space as we had 3 children with us instead of 2 (again, Mark and Zoe went that extra mile and re-arranged the room to fit us all in which was very much appreciated). Our accommodation more than met our requirements,. The house itself is lovely, very well decorated with our room very well with all that was needed and very well presented. we also had a lovely view of the sea. The bathroom, as with the bedroom was more than adequate, very tidy and very light and airy. The house itself is a very short car journey to the centre of Lyme Regis centre (no more than 5 minutes drive) and is set in beautiful, peaceful surroundings and Mark and Zoe are the most welcoming hosts. I would definitely recommend them to anybody and would be more than happy staying there again. Nearly forgot........ Zoe does a fantastic breakfast!!!!!

Gary H. Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed there last year and have just stayed again, hosted beautifully by Zoe and Mark always loads to do and being at walking distance from it all is a must.
Lyme gets better and better, will be back again thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 480Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I can see how this might work out as a really nice stay for some, particularly, say, people with children and those who maybe value character over comfort in B&B, but it didn't really completely work for me. A few things were a bit irritatingly inefficient. The decor was quite fancy (Laura Ashley apparently), but I definitely prefer it for things to be well maintained and sensibly arranged, which they weren't always (eg the lights and fan in the bathroom did not work; the mirror wasn't fixed on securely and rattled every time you turned the light on - not great when the bathroom was not en suite and you feel a little self-conscious in going to the toilet in the night). There was a tap-attached shower fixture in the bathroom which gave a decent pressure, but no shower glass and the tiling only went part way up the wall so you couldn't have a stand up shower without getting water everywhere (the wallpaper, meanwhile, was pealing off where people had tried anyway). The television in the bedroom was an old-style cathode ray with a really tiny display, which was a bit silly for what was a large bedroom (I mean, really, even the £30/night places have flat screens these days - I would taken a better telly over designer wallpaper personally).

Owners were generally nice and helpful, although the guy did ask whether my pannier bags were 'clean enough' to take in the house itself (which he determined they were, in fairness), which I was a little bit put out by. Those pannier bags are my luggage and you wouldn't suggest that a guest's suitcase that had (say) been dropped in mud should be emptied out before they entered their room (you might offer to clean it down or provide an extra towel to rest it on or whatever) - in other words, a sure-fire way to offend cyclists is to treat them as second-class citizens! Wasn't the best initial welcome, but I was otherwise fine with the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent three nights at Rhododendron House. Mark welcomed us and made us a drink, we sat outside in the glorious sunshine. We stayed in the Hawthorne room and had a great view out towards the sea. Our 7 yr old son couldn't wait to play outside with Jo and after a while Mark and I joined them both for a bit of footie. Zoe and Mark made sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnM1219CU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We just spent three nights at Rhododendron House and were wonderfully looked after. We stayed in the Kimono and Lori rooms which were lovely airy rooms with great views, especially loved the window seat. Zoe and Mark were great and couldn't do enough to help us, they dealt with feeding three fussy children with patience and smiles, the guinea pig egg cups went down brilliantly. We would recommend Rhododendron House to anybody visiting Lyme very highly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steveclinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed only one night as a family with 2 children of 8&10y. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were immaculate and very confortable, with attention paid to details. The B&B owners Mark and Zoe, were very welcoming and helpful to tell us were to find fossils. The 1910 (I think) house is well built, with thick walls in the Art and Craft spirit. Should we go back to Lyme Regis, I would go back to Rhododendron House with no hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
0.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
368 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhododendron House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhododendron House B&B

Property: Rhododendron House B&B
Address: 3 Colway Rise | Colway Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Also Known As:
Rhododendron House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing