We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Art Deco gem”
Review of Regent Cinema

Regent Cinema
Ranked #14 of 29 things to do in Lyme Regis
Attraction details
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
119 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely little Art Deco gem”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is lovely, very pretty with good seats, excellent sound and not too many customers. It's a little old style but in a very nice way - staff are always friendly, excellent choice of films and good value. Deserves more customers than it gets

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Lovely Old Style Cinema”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After buying a holiday home in Lyme Regis we had been promising ourselves we would pay a visit to the local Cinema.
It was like going back in time to our youth. Lovely old style Cinema, comfy seating and although you can book ahead, which we did, you cannot reserve your seats in the stalls. However we got there early and got great seats.
We had noticed each time we passed that all the latest films were showing and we saw Skyfall which was brilliant.
At home we have to get in the car to go to the Cinema as our local one closed years ago so we shall be using this one again many times.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another gem!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An art deco building with very friendly staff and all the latest films within hours of release! Comfortable seating and good coffee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cms7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful local cinema”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

An art deco interior, a little faded, but comfy seats and a good choice for a rainy night. The staff were very helpful, and we managed to sit in the stalls and had a good view of the screen.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hillymilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Holiday trip and Skyfall too!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a lovely old-fashioned independent cinema. How lovely to know they still exist. We bought stalls tickets two days before and made sure we got there early to "bag" our seats. Such good value, and they had great refreshments on sale in the foyer, including decaff.tea which for an evening performance is a must. Really friendly atmosphere, warm and cosy, and a great treat on a cold and wet October evening. If you're staying nearby it's well worth seeing your chosen film there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regent Cinema also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Regent Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing