We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly!”
Review of Largigi

Largigi
Ranked #10 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Not child friendly!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We didn't even get into this restaurant as despite asking if there were high chairs, looking at a menu inside and then deciding we would go in, as soon as we asked for a table we told by a guy rather abruptly that the empty restaurant was fully booked, we looked around at the empty tables and then realised they didn't want a 5 yr old and a 19th month old with a highchair. Even the waitress asked the guy who told us they were fully booked, he must have been the manager, asked how that could be. We felt very embarrassed and left straightaway. A shame, if they don't want young children or babies, they should not have highchairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largigi, Owner at Largigi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It's such a shame that people's first reaction is " They don't want us because we have children"
Although we looked empty, all tables were booked!! We had two Large birthday parties with approximately 15 Children ages ranging from 1 year to 13. My wife who is also a director of the business is a primary school teacher and we are known for our Family Friendly business. Your review is an insult without facts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    147
    35
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thai with sea views”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very nearly gave this very good but it tripped up on a few little points - mixed starter was good apart from sesame toast was lacking in prawn content and overcooked, duck main course was a bit chewy with some pieces inedible, however my wife had no complaints with her chicken main course the meat was very tender and lean and both main courses were generous, the staff were very friendly and we will give it another try when next in Lyme

Visited April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largigi, Owner at Largigi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I can only apologise for the food that you remarked about. If you would have at the time mentioned this to the staff we could have rectified this problem.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have eaten at Largigi several times over the years and always enjoyed the meal. This time we found it disappointing. The first impression when sitting down is coloured by not having a 'set' table - I understand there being no table cloth because the tables are interesting, but the lack of glasses and cutlery makes it feel more like a cafe. Their was also a feel of the place being less than loved from a cleanliness perspective. I then discovered 'bits' in the bottom of my beer glass as I got towards the bottom and pointed it out to the owner who served the first course - he was less than apologetic and replaced it with a 'half' which was acceptable as i had drank more than half: the magnanimous gesture would have been a full pint and an apology. The food was no more than OK, the platter was good, the red curry could have had more heat and the pad thai was too sweet. The meal was not cheap and for £10 more each the night before we enjoyed a much better evening at Mark Hix.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largigi, Owner at Largigi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Sorry but I can not agree with this review. I would like to make one comment regarding the beer. The bits in the bottom was food which when drinking and eating is quite a common occurrence. Our beer line are cleaned weekly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing authentic thai food; dreadful front of house service”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

was in the area for a few days and my daughter persuaded us to go in. decor and ambience was not to my taste at all, that's obviously subjective, but the front of house service was dreadful. when we went in to ask for a table the owner seemed a bit stressed and not at all at ease. sat for ages with no menus while diners who'd come in after us were given menus. the owner seemed to be very out of his depth, telling one customer he had too many things to do to clear a dirty table. clearly very inexperienced and without an understanding of a customer's expectations. there were no napkins on the table and we weren't offered chopsticks even though other diners had both. part of our order was wrong, which was very disappointing, but the food was excellent. it was clearly fresh, not re-heated, and cooked by well-experienced chefs who really know their food. my prawns were expertly prepared, the curry perfectly seasoned and spiced. some of the best thai food i've ever had. i've had to mark it as average as the poor service was ameliorated by the excellent food which was very reasonably priced for the standard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largigi, Owner at Largigi, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
When people go out to eat their only focus and rightly so is their needs and people have no clue to the difficulties catering staff face when things go wrong. Unfortunately on this particular night because of staff shortages I was called down as only one member of staff was on duty and with a full restaurant it was for a short period a bit hectic until I got things under control. Sorry you felt uncared for but I hope you understand things can and do go wrong. Glad you enjoyed your food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely food charming staff and a view too!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After a awful experience elsewhere we stopped here in hope of a decent snack, we were not disappointed, we all had omelettes which came with fries and a good coleslaw, they were light and fluffy and restored are faith in lyme regis for food. We intend to come over in the summer to try the evening menu which looked very good. Plenty of choices for drinks from usual cafe range to beers and wines so all the age ranges were happy. Thank you for a lovely bank holiday!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largigi, Owner at Largigi, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you so much for making our day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Largigi also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing