We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best location in Lyme”
Stunning dual-aspect sea views from the Lounge with an elevated outlook accross the Cobb through to
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning dual-aspect sea views from the Lounge with an elevated outlook accross the Cobb through to
Cobb Gate Beach House pictured (centre) Unrivalled 180 degree sea views from the Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Stunning dual-aspect sea views from the Lounge with an elevated outlook accross the Cobb through to
Cobb Gate Beach House pictured (centre)
Unrivalled 180 degree sea views from the Lounge
Bright & spacious double-aspect Lounge with incredible panoramic sea views!
Enjoy panoramic sea views at breakfast, lunch & dinner!
Fully fitted Kitchen with integrated, quality appliances
Principle bedroom with King Size bed, en-suite & stunning sea views!
Elevated, panoramic sea views from Master Bedroom
Ground floor Principle Bedroom with twin beds and sea views
Ground floor bedoom two with twin beds
Looking back towards the property from the Cobb
Looking out towards the sea from the private garden
Lyme Regis is a quintessential seaside town with a unique atmosphere!
Enjoy a stroll on the cobbled streets through to the main High Street...
Marine Parade & beach (Cobb Gate Beach House in middle of photo)
Beautifully situated on the sea front at Marine Parade
The sea is quite literally just a stones' throw away
Beautiful historic coastline with some fantastic walks...
The Cobb (with Golden Cap cliff tops in the background)
A view of the Cobb from above
Looking East from the private terrace towards Golden Cap
Spectacular dual-aspect sea views from the Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheBookFa...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The best location in Lyme”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

A really Lovely house, very spacious and spotlessly clean. In the most perfect location imaginable. The sitting room is delightful, I was up at 7am both days (believe me, I'm not an early riser!), just so that I could sit with my morning cup of tea, watching the sun rise over the sea. Blissful. We will certainly be back. Thank you.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopeless...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Lyme, so good we've done it twice!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

As the title suggests, we've been here twice and will be back. Absolutely stunning location right on the front. We love it as our older kids can have a bit of freedom, you can see the beach and them bodyboarding from pretty much anywhere in the house. With a terrace and an ice cream shop next to the front door, our kids have begged to go back. The house itself has everything you need, the sitting room is enormous and has wrap round windows so you can enjoy the sun, and indeed we were gripped by the mother of all storms and watched that too. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No parking, but that's the price you pay for being seafront. Car park a short walk
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadamJose...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This is a 3 bedroom house with the main bedroom up a very steep and small spiral staircase. The two other bedrooms downstairs each have 2 large single beds, one bedroom decorated for children, the other more adult, with a shared bathroom. The ensuite in the master bedroom is small and with the sloping roof it is a bit cramped with no shelving to put toiletries. However there is lots of cupboard space in the bedroom itself.
We rented this house for 6 days but had to pay the weekly rental price and as we didn't use the other bedrooms it was a bit pricey for a couple, but the views from the living, dining and master bedroom made it worthwhile. We thought we would have bad weather, as it's been the wettest and coldest summer in the UK for 100 years and that's when the location, right on the pebbly beach shines, as you can watch the weather from all these rooms.
We were disappointed that there was no lounging furniture in the large outside paved terrace. A tressle table and a garden seat are provided but neither were suitable for sun baking, despite this area having all day sun (when it shone). There is brick BBQon the terrace but no wood, matches, fire lighters or kindling were provided.
There is no parking available near the house apart from drop off and pickup, and the Car Park pass provided is a 10 minute walk uphill from the house, so not suitable for those with limited mobility or poor fitness. If you have a disabled parking pass you can park outside the house all day.
We really enjoyed Lyme Regis as a destination and took many day trips around Dorset from here - We can recommend the River Cottage Cafe in Axminster 6 miles away for a great lunch. We were disappointed with the service at Hix restaurant. The local Thai almost next door was very good too.
The house is cute, full of knick knacks, painted in various pastel colours, comfortable and relaxing. The owner seems very nice and would be extremely helpful if problems arose.
We would have preferred to pay by Credit card but this facility was not available - transferring foreign currency is time consuming and expensive for both parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views over the pebbly beach to the sea
Liked least: Distance to the carpark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
204finedi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage with perfect panoramic views and location”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cobb Gate for a week with our two adult children, both had their own room. The cottage is very well equipped and furnished and has one of the best views on the beach front. It was heated which was fortunate as we hit bad weather, but even then the outlook was interesting with heavy seas and moody Dorset skies, different for us coming from Australia. Hix restaurant was a highlight, also the Harbour Inn further towards the Cobb, excellent beer and food. My only criticism of Cobb Gate would be the fairly small ensuite (sloping attic roof) with a shower my tall husband could barely fit into. Otherwise we were extremely comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Ensuite shower
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katrina38...
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place would highly recommend”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

well what a fantastic house,great views,i would highly recommend staying here.
we had a fantastic time staying at cobb gate house in lyme regis 10 out 10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from cobb gate house
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tonywMidl...
midlands uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'GEM' of a place”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend stay from 23 March 2012 at this well equipped and very confortable house. The panoramic views of the sea and coastline are incredible. You have to pinch yourself to make sure it is real!
Everything is close at hand shops, pubs and restaurants. What a 'Gem' of a place.
Sue & Tony

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything for a perfect break
Liked least: No complaints at all
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing