We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, and roomier than we could hope for.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Cuthbert's of Lyme
Ranked #24 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top quality, and roomier than we could hope for.”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Don't know if we were just lucky with the accommodation we got, but went in expecting a B&B and were shown into the annexe with bedroom, en suite, lounge and kitchenette. French doors opening onto view over Lyme Bay and the sea. Spotlessly clean, quiet, friendly (even though I'm from Pompey and Miles is a Saints fan), good choice at breakfast, huge portions, great advice from Sue and Miles about where to go and what to see. 20 mins walk direct into town, or half hour amble along country lane and riverside; only drawback is the trek back up a very steep hill, hence the four stars for location. Bus is however cheap, and hourly in the evening. As for Lyme Bay itself, we found beer and dinner generally expensive!

Room Tip: We didn't ask for the annexe, but you could!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinThereDunThatTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just back from a lovely 2 day break in Lyme Regis staying in this superb B&B. This really is a top quality place to stay, which may be slightly 'out of town' but it's well worth the walk in and back to get this standard at such a reasonable price.
Our room was very comfortable and so relaxing - super comfy bed and nice outlook over the gardens. Also has an en-suite wet-room which is a real treat. The wine glasses and min fridge proved useful for an indulgent Sunday evening in.
Sue and Miles are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast's are scrumptious and leave little scope for lunch...
For the price, this is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in and comes heartily recommended.

Room Tip: Take the riverside walk back out from town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked St Cuthberts for our Silver Wedding mini-break as we have been coming to Lyme for years and always stayed next door at Timber Vale caravan park. We wanted something special and we got it! The room was superb - everything thought of - even wine and beer classes provided for the evening tipple! The breakfast was the best ever and the choice? Amercian pancakes with maple syrup and streaky bacon has to be top of the pops!

Miles and Sue were perfect hosts - warm, friendly, helpful but never 'in the way'. We loved the whole atmosphere of the place and booked straightaway for a return visit this May.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_bramlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a terrific experience, everything we hoped for. Superlatives cannot do justice to Sue and Miles. They are now more like friends than hosts. Breakfast is something else too; skilfully cooked with all the ingredients of exceptional quality and in quantities to satisfy anyone. It is in lovely surroundings and handy for Lyme Regis and the surrounding area. Their garden is full of birds and so obviously as cared for as everything else they do. I shall without doubt return. A big 'Thank you' to them both.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We just stayed at St Cuthbert's for four nights in their lovely annex (which includes bedroom, large bathroom with washroom and an upstairs living room overlooking the whole valley all the way down to the sea!).

Sue and Miles were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay, plus make a great breakfast.

The centre of Lyme is only a 10 minute walk away, but the B&B is at the top of a fairly steep hill, so those with dodgy limbs might struggle!

Highly recommended for a relaxing and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have just returned from a three night break at St Cuthberts and I could not fault it at all. Sue & Miles have done a lovely job even down to putting a small fridge in the cupboard with water and milk replenished every day. Breakfast was excellent nothing too much trouble. The room we stayed in overlooked the garden and was very comfortable - so much so we are buying the same mattress for home! I would recommend to anyone visiting this area.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Midlifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found an excellent B & B. Miles and Sue are very welcoming and have good local knowledge, recommending places to eat and advice on walks. The decor throughout is very tasteful and our room was spotless with a good view down the valley to the sea. Breakfast is spectacular! Beautifully presented and cooked using fresh local produce. Nothing else was needed until evening time. We felt very much at home and comfortable. The walk down to Lyme Regis is steep as mentioned in other reviews, but this is the same wherever you stay in the town. There is also safe parking on the property. Would recommend 'The Bay' Hotel Bistro on the seafront for an evening meal. Food lovely and staff very helpful. Will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truffycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
3.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#23 of 45 in Lyme Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#15 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Cuthbert's of Lyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Cuthbert's of Lyme

Property: St Cuthbert's of Lyme
Address: St. Cuthberts Charmouth Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — St Cuthbert's of Lyme 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
St Cuthbert's Of Lyme Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing