We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, lovely ambience, great staff & good food & wines” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Millside Restaurant

The Millside Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
268 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“friendly, lovely ambience, great staff & good food & wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great place for lunch or dinner.
Large bunch of girls for dinner in a lovely room all to ourselves where we could make as much noise and confusion as we could. Staff were great ,ensuring water, home made bread & drinks etc were served first. All our orders were taken smartly & each course came out on time, together. Food was lovely & service with a smile. Nice music in the back ground. We had a fab nite & have been before. Good atmosphere, great time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    135
    44
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and a lovely ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We sat outside on a table for two and started our meal with a gin & tonic. We both chose locally caught fish - sea bass for my friend and cod for me. They were both delicious and were served on a bed of sliced potatoes and samphire, which is sea asparagus (neither of us had eaten this before and it was really nice). We also had a side of vegetables to share and were given a little dish with at least 6 different types of vegetable. To accompany the fish, I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and my friend had Pinot Grigio - both were good. We then had the most gorgeous melting chocolate puddings with vanilla pod ice cream. They were perfect and not too sickly. The service couldn't be faulted - friendly and attentive and the whole bill came to £57.75 plus tip.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and exceptional staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We visited this resaurant twice in a week, the second time because it was so good the first ! I would recommend taking something off the Specials board as a must - it will be some of the freshest seafood you will taste ! I would recoomend booking in advance as the place gets busy but through it all, the staff could not be more helpful, friendly and patient. Great place ! Can't comment on the atmosphere only that we were made to feel very welcome !

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best sunday roast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Did not book in advance just took a chance and they fitted us in, service is good but be prepared to wait as the food is all cooked fresh. It is well worth the wait as this was the best lamb roast I have ever had.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robandjen9817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were very impressed by our meal here and I would give it the maximum rating. The decor however does not live up to the high quality of the food. It is rather bland, old fashioned and ordinary, it needs to perk up to attract the sort of customers it deserves. The place lacks atmosphere. I will go there again though, in spite of it. ( My husband is not a vegetarian and enjoyed his steak immensely.)

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffycardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millside Restaurant also viewed

Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Millside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing