We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thatch is a wonderful B&B”
Review of Thatch

Thatch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thatch
Ranked #33 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent two nights at Thatch in Lyme Regis and had a wonderful time. Our double room opened onto the garden and had its own entrance. The hosts Wendy & Frank are lovely people, very welcoming. Fantastic English breakfast with wide choice. Beautiful octagonal thatched house with loads of character. Strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only saw the double room leading onto the garden which is lovely and nice to have your own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for long weekend during very hot weather. Beautiful place, lovely room with own thatched porch entrance. Very clean and well appointed. Great food and the hospitality was out of this world. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We traveled via motorbike and did not fancy wearing all our protective clothing down to the beach on the last day and it was not a problem to leave at the B&B so we could collect and travel home later. Would highly recommend and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This B&B was the last stop on our walk from Exmouth to Lyme Regis.
What a lovely place to end the holiday. The place itself is very pretty and has a nice garden overlooking a valley. The rooms are well appointed, with some lovely cookies and even after eight mints to eat!
The only problem with our room was that the ceiling is a little low so if you are tall be careful.
The owners make the place special, however, as they could not have been more welcoming and friendly. They also do a great breakfast!
Great place to stay in Lyme Regis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I used to stay regularly at Thatch, but haven't been for a while. However, nothing has changed. This lovely B&B is still spotlessly clean, breakfasts are generous and tasty and the house has amazing views of Lyme Bay and the surrounding countryside. As my husband said, it passed the 'sausage test'. The owners are incredibly welcoming, friendly and have a great sense of humour. I simply can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights as I was on a course at River Cottage, and it was perfect.
Lovely location, great hosts and wonderful breakfast !
Frank and Wendy really made us feel at home when we arrived and kept this up throughout our stay. Would definitely stay again if we return to Lyme Regis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinkyNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely 3 nights we had staying at this great B & B. We had our 5 month old with us and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. Frank and Wendy were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a quiet and peaceful few days. The breakfast was really tasty and made to order. Fantastic. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazzaBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our time. a very warm welcome from Frank and Wendy relaxed us straight away.
Comfy beds, clean and well equipped wet room and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Large choice of breakfast all very fresh and delightfully served.

Room Tip: The twin room has better views of the sea and country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyme Regis hotels
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garret B & B
The Garret B & B
#28 of 45 in Lyme Regis
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#24 of 45 in Lyme Regis
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#11 of 45 in Lyme Regis
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch

Address: Thatch Uplyme Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Thatch Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing