We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B”
Review of Albany Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albany Guest House
Ranked #4 of 45 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August. Lovely little B&B and good value for money. Excellent location being a few minutes walk into Lyme Regis. Our room was very comfortable and looked down into the town. Sue and Phil were excellent hosts and took lots of time to talk to the guests and offer advice on what to do and where to go. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trebor27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for this we are pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
81
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a couple of nights in order to recapture childhood memories! Very happy with where the B&B was and the room overlooked the sea and was clean, as was the en-suite. The host was extremely pleasant and very helpful - especially as I arrived with a puncture!
She was more than happy for us to leave our cars in the carpark while we enjoyed our last day. Highly recommended as a base for Lyme Regis and we will stay again if we venture back that way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
thank you so much for this we hope we see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

an excellent stay for the one night. extremely welcoming hostess and the room overlooking Lyme bay and the coast was clean and comfortable. a short walk into town makes it an ideal place to stay in Lyme regis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, General Manager at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for this we hope we see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We couldn't recommend this little b&b more. Our room was spotless and had a lovely view of the sea. Bed was very comfy and shower warm. Sue and Phil were excellent hosts. On discovering we were there for my partners birthday, Sue decorated our breakfast table and advised us where to go for a celebratory meal. Very helpful having the parking by the b&b as town was very close so we could walk in every day. Breakfast was DELICIOUS! With fruit, cereal, toast and cooked food, all bases were covered. Really lovely little place-would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
thank you so much for this we hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited this excellent guest house both in April and May this year (2013) May being our 5th visit, and can only praise both Sue and Phil (owners) for all the care and attention they pay to every detail. They are both always only too pleased to help make our holidays special and Sue has a vast knowledge of the area to share. Overall the standard of cleanliness, comfort and choice of breakfast we felt was excellent. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskernow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
thank you for this we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a lovely guest house. I truly felt as though I was the personal guest of the owners. Room very comfortable, spotless and well stocked. Even a little foil wrapped chocolate on top of the snowy towels! Sue, the owner took great pains to ensure that I was comfortable and enjoying my stay in Lyme Regis. Although not from the area she has a wealth of knowledge and is able to advise you on where to go bus and tide times etc. They also have quite a few books for guests to read and borrow about the area. My vegetarian breakfast was cooked to perfection and there is a good supply of breakfast items to choose from. This is a lovely guest house where the owners take great pains to make your stay as enjoyable as is possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyGloucester895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My daughter and I arrived on Friday evening and found our twin room at the back of the B and B had a sea view which was very nice. The towels and bedlinen were extremely soft and the bedroom and en-suite was spotless. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was very good but only served between 8-15am and 9am. A bit of a narrow window for us but nevertheless we enjoyed it. The lady owner was chatty and helpful. We left to meet up with family and to plan my son's wedding. At the end of the day my daughter and I decided not to have breakfast on the Sunday as we had had rather a lot of food throughout the day and we had a big family lunch planned on the Sunday.Ww were all so very tired after a hectic day. As a matter of courtesy .I informed the landlord and said we that although we had enjoyed the breakfast we did not require breakfast on Sunday. We were amazed/shocked on the Sunday morning when at 10.20am there was a knock on the bedroom door. When my daughter opened the door, landlady said, 'The room should have been vacated at 10.15am!!!!! We were both shocked at the comment and apologised. We were only five mins over the departing time. NO BON VIE here. i. e. 'Sorry to bother you but can you let me know when you are leaving as we have a lot of room changes today. Perhaps it would be a good idea to let people know verbally when they arrive of the 'rules'. Five minutes over... is a little offensive. I know it is on the information board but we forgot to check it ,as were there to concentrate on my son's wedding planning. Pity as this really spoilt our stay. We found it very rude to make one statment like that and walk off. On a positive note, we will remember our manners and thank you for allowing us to leave our car on your carpark till we left.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany-Lyme, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you we did appreciate you informing us that you did not require breakfast and were happy to let you leave the car in our car park free of charge to allow you time to look around the town.

Our booking out time is clearly stated and it is not unusual in any guest accommodation where rooms need to be cleaned and readied for the next guest, we did wait some time before reminding you of the booking out time and are sorry the you felt unable to talk to us at the time. We do assure you that we do work hard and try to give all our guest a happy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme Regis
3.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Guest House

Property: Albany Guest House
Address: Charmouth Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Albany Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing