We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comforatble tranquility in an idyllic place”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax Gas log-effect stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Spacious living room with log-effect stove
Plenty of room to relax
Gas log-effect stove
Large dining table
All modern appliances in the kitchen
5-foot double bed
Galleried bedroom
Bath with fixed overhead shower
Owners' cottage on left, The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The garden at Bedford Cottage
Buckland Monachorum village
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk from The Forge onto the Moor
Miles of moorland to explore
More ponies
Riverside walks
Climb a tor
Admire the view
Enjoy a cream tea
Walk around Burrator Reservoir
Postbridge
Loads of walks with fantastic scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Brian C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comforatble tranquility in an idyllic place”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at Bedford cottage for a few weeks so that I could be near my fledgling business. The cottage is located in the village centre within easy walking distance of the pub which serves excellent food and drink. It is well furnished and has everything that you will need for your stay with plenty of hot water, a very comfortable bed and a kitchen which met my needs more than adequately. The living room is large and double height giving a non claustrophobic living space with which the heating system easily copes.
Andrew and Carol who own the cottage, live in the adjacent building and they were excellent hosts who were very keen to see that my stay was made as comfortable as possible. This was so much better for a long term let than a hotel!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large open plan living space
Liked least: The church clock but I soon got used to it.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanntomps
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, even lovelier hosts”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I stayed in the forge for a long weekend just before Christmas. Whilst the weather was poor we had a great stay, a warm welcome, great local knowledge and fantastic location for walking on the moor.
Booking was easy and quick, no faults at all.
We will definitely be staying again, hopefully the sun will shine next time!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calm, beautiful and spacious with very welcoming owners.”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay over New Year and once again, we found it perfect for a relaxing break but with plenty of opportunities for interesting walks and visits. Andrew and Carol are exceptional hosts.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susnruss
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Village Tranquility”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Buckland Monachorum, the quintessential Devon Village, Pub, Church and a footpath that leads wherever you want it to go. The forge at Bedford cottage was a superb choice for a place to stay, Andrew and Carol were exceptional hosts and knowledgeable about the local area. I can safely say in all our travels this is the first time we have ever been to a coffee morning at the village hall...

The accommodations were superb, the parking unique and easy, the ambiance of the entire property was exactly as we hoped, and maybe even slightly better than we expected. The character of the village came through on Sunday morning as the church bells rang and the horse riders went by.

A thourghly relaxing and enjoyable experience, and, the village pub is only a one minute stroll away.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ambiance
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jentol57
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent three nights at the Forge and could not have asked for a better place for a lovely relaxing break.. The cottage was so cosy, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need. Great location for Dartmoor walks and a lovely village pub with excellent food. We would have loved to stay longer and would highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all. Andrew and Carol are so friendly, welcoming and gave us lots of good information about the area. We hope to see them again and their adorable black labrador in the future.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very beautiful, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a quiet village. The cottage was very warm, clean and well kept. Andrew and Carol were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble.

This is a great location for exploring Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth, Tamar Valley and Cornwall. There are great walks from the cottage. Easy walking distance to a local garden 'The Garden House' where you can have tea and cake or a light lunch. A very enjoyable trip recommended by Andrew was from Plymouth by the Cremyll passenger ferry to Mount Edgcumbe. At the end of the day we enjoyed lovely meals at the Drake Inn within walking distance of the cottage.

We are looking forward to making a return visit in the future.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in easy reach of walking and attractions
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apbellama
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy quality accomodation”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Forge. The location is beautiful, and we enjoyed the peace and tranquillity very much. The Forge is very comfortable, immaculately presented and very well equipped. Our hosts Carol & Andrew were very welcoming, and thank you for arranging the lunar eclipse! Lots of things to see and do within easy reach, and a friendly local pub serving good food within 50 yards - what more could you ask?

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing