We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit to The Harrabeer Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrabeer Country House
Ranked #2 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit to The Harrabeer Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just had our second stay at the Harrabeer with Amanda & Michael. We had room 1 which is the master room and well worth the small premium on price. Michael and Amanda make you feel like valued guests in their own home. The atmosphere was great and rubs off onto the other guests so that people talk to each other. Michael kept us amused with his own version of a very benign Basil Fawlty and Amanda kept us well fed. We shall definitely be going back again (if they'll have us) as we feel so welcome there. What a shame other small hotels can't create this warm ambience. Can't rate it too highly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Manager at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
What kind words! You know you will always be welcome even if "Basil" says "Please don't come again as it means more washing up for me"!! Been flying again recently??? Great Pics.! Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
124
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay with Amanda and Michael and felt compelled to write a review, which is something I very rarely do! They achieved a close to impossible task over the last 3 nights and completely changed my mind about small hotels! We had room 1 which is spacious, airy, light and with fantastic views. Amanda and Michael are brilliant hosts and pulled out all the stops to make us welcome and comfortable. Breakfast, presented by Michael in his own inimitable style, was excellent and we enjoyed the evening meal that we took in the hotel.
I'm won over. Relaxed and refreshed, we're looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Room 1 is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
You are most gracious and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and you have had a rethink on small places! The advantage us smaller, owner managed and run places have is that most of us are passionate about business and it is our home so we want people to enjoy their stay. My short coming is not getting back to you soon enough to acknowledge your kind comments. We hope that your house problems now have an ending in sight. We hope that we might have the pleasure of your company another time. Our Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in the self catering accommodation connected to the hotel. A lovely home from home. We were offered the use of hotels facilities if we so required with a very warm welcome the first day.The hotel itself is very well located for Tavistock, Plymouth and best of all Dartmoor. A quiet location to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionatcosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the lower self catering suite worked out well for you and your mother. You certainly managed to cram a lot in as, from memory, you were out and about pretty early each morning! Our best wishes to you both and hopefully you may visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

After a long drive we arrived to find our dinner waiting for us. The welcome we received from both Michael and Amanda was brilliant and we were left with the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. After settling in we headed for the bar where Michael made us feel incredibly welcome in his own bubbly and infectious way. Dinner was lovely and after, feeling very satisfied, we had coffee in the lounge and then headed for bed. The property itself is charming, warmly decorated and perfectly unique. The room was great with a large bathroom and certificate on the wall outlining the mattress had been hygienically cleaned earlier in the month, very comforting to know.

After a good nights sleep it was time for breakfast and I can honestly say that the breakfast that was served was one of the best, if not the best I have ever had. The bacon in particular was amazing, thick with the rind snipped and perfectly grilled to a crunch.

We were heading to a wedding that day and they had kindly agreed to allow us the time to get ready for the ceremony at 1pm, at no time did we feel harassed or that it was an inconvenience. Thank you for this.

It is a shame that we were not able to stay longer but we have now found a place we can reassuringly return with the family for an extended stay safe in the knowledge that this is a fantastic base from where to explore Devon a little more.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Motisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
I shall start with an apology that I have not commented sooner and thank you for your kind words. It makes all the difference to us to hear that we would appear to be getting it right - well for most people! IT makes everything we do worth while. Thank you! You and your family will be most welcome any time - come and enjoy Devon and explore - so much to see and do!
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Amanda greeted us after a long drive with tea and scones with jam and cream, taken in the garden, with a backdrop of flowers, and I wondered if I'd fallen into a parallel universe. Our family had three rooms and we appeared and disappeared at various times, with toddler in tow, as the phases of the family wedding in the lovely nearby village of Horrabridge required. Michael and Amanda served up a fabulous meal for us all, including groom, the night before the wedding, with great veggie options. Breakfasts were excellent and confabs in the lounge went better when wrapped round pots of coffee, kindly supplied by our hosts. I think it's these little extra touches that will bring us back to Harrabeer Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Things are always hit and miss with a little person around and nobody knows what will happen! We enjoyed having you all here and as long as you were happy we were too!!! Hope you all got back safely - Best wishes to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gondal, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this property with family of four, two rooms. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was big as well as the bathroom. Excellent location, peaceful surroundings. Good breakfast, and ample parking available on site. A perfect place to relax and explore the surrounding areas of the Dartmoor National Park. A very well managed property, looked after by the owners themselves. It was a pleasure to be in this place. Wish we could stay longer. May be next time.

Room Tip: The twin room on the first floor which we got was very big and the bathroom too was big and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Firstly, thank you for your kind words. Secondly "A home away from home" - you were certainly a long way from your home and one day we would love to visit your country. Our very best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinges, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Harabeer Country House Hotel is a rare gem, just like its owners Michael and Amanda. It is charmingly quaint and well placed to explore beautiful Dartmoor. We spent a weekend "en famille" for my Husband's 60th Birthday and will retain cherished memories of the fabulous reception afforded us by Michael and Amanda and their son. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully prepared, with lots of fabulous choice. The evening meal was absolutely delicious and well balanced with excellent wine and beverage possibilities. Amanda attended to all the special requests we made, organising flowers for our room and ordering special request wines from her supplier to complement our evening meal. We asked for pre-dinner canapes and the family provided us with a veritable selection which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden room. Returning home from our energetic activities on the moors in the early afternoon tired and peckish, Amanda was on hand with hot tea and scrumptious devon scones, jam and clotted cream. Could we have been any more spoilt? I think not. This really was a "home from home", where we were all able to feel totally pampered!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, calm , quiet and utterly charming. Amongst our family members we occupied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
What a wonderful lot of things you have said about us! Many thanks! It was great to have you all here and have so many happy people around and obviously enjoying each others company - we certainly enjoyed yours! You would be welcome any time!! Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
1.8 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrabeer Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrabeer Country House

Property: Harrabeer Country House
Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrabeer Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is small, quiet and family owned offering many attributes of a small HOTEL, with the informality of a BED and BREAKFAST, graded as 4 gold star GUEST ACCOMMODATION and a previous finalist for AA Landlady of the Year. There are 6 comfortable bedrooms: all with ensuite/private bathroom facilities. There are adjoining rooms with a privacy door for families and all rooms are suitable for single occupancy at a reduced room rate. Partake of locally sourced food and wine in the attractive restaurant and enjoy the relaxed surroundings in a gracious sitting room. A wood burning stove burns on cooler evenings in our newly refurbished bar which have uncovered many of the original features that had been lost for decades: or sit in the small but secluded garden when warmer. There are 2 beautiful SELF-CATERING suites in a sympathetically converted barn. Our “self-caterers” are welcome in-house to enjoy the bar, breakfast and evening meals if they wish. HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is conveniently located for an extensive range of outdoor activities on and around Dartmoor with a host of interesting places to visit yet only 5 miles from the award winning market town of Tavistock and 9miles from the city of Plymouth for high street shopping, nightlife and theatre. Major credit cards accepted. We think we have it all ... and with a smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harrabeer Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrabeer Country House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing