We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harrabeer Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

When we arrived Michael the owner greeted us at the door before we even got out of the car, after some very friendly chit chat he invited us in and gave us coffee, a freshly brewed pot not instant.

After 10 to 15 minutes talking we were shown how to use the lock on the front door and shown to our room via a tour of the house.

Harrabeer itself is very old but with lots of character, its also very cosy especially when the new log burner is going full pelt heating the reception / bar area.

Amanda and Michael make a great team, they are both very accommodating and make you very welcome.

Amanda is very talented gastronomically producing food as good as that in expensive restaurants and I am surprised Michael isn't over weight as a result....

Our room was cosy and the bed very comfortable, I suffer with my back so this was good...

Shower room is through a walkway in the room and it is private to room 2 so no need to worry about sharing, the shower is very powerful and the cubicle spacious allowing you to move around freely unlike some smaller shower rooms I have used before.

If you want a country house break characteristic of Devon / Dartmoor then a stay with Amanda and Michael is a must, we are looking forward to a summer stay next year so we can benefit from better weather, hopefully!

Excellent accommodation, proper food and a good selection of drinks all at reasonable prices, oh and hospitality you can't buy! 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Harrabeer. This is a hotel in a million, all the reports written are so true. It's home from home with brilliant food and the most excellent of hosts. Close to Dartmoor and Plymouth, very close to Dartmoor zoo, a good centre to strike out across the moors.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedtoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Harrabeer country house hotel, says it all, it is a comfortable country house hotel close to Dartmoor not far from Plymouth and Tavistock. The hotel is clean and comfortable, Amanda was so helpful and made you feel quite at home. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a quality en-suite bathroom. everything was clean and fresh. the bed was large and comfortable. we didnt stay for an evening meal, but Amanda was able to recommend a local hostelry, breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent. My wife and I could not find fault, we will return.
Geoffrey and Elaine Nuelle, Brackley, Northants.

Room Tip: The view from room 1 was excellent perfect place for a country weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGBrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wonderful return visit to this BnB and enjoyed our stay again. The lounge/bar area in reception had been improved since our last stay and felt more open. Amanda and Michael are wonderful at making you feel comfortable and welcome. The food is extremely good as well. Definitely a great place from which to visit the local area - which is extremely beautiful.

Room Tip: We had room 4 this time - and I really liked the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had the pleasure of a two night stay at the Harrabeer during our recent trip to Plymouth to compete with our dog Dotty at the annual Obedience show. Very dog friendly but you'd never know that dogs had even been in the building, it's immaculately kept with very high standards of cleanliness. Room was lovely, with a very comfy bed. Welcome on arrival was warm and genuine, in fact each time we came back to the Harrabeer we were made to feel like old friends. Amanda and Michael run the place perfectly. Breakfast was gorgeous - especially the bacon, mmmm (although my stupid pre-competition nerves meant I couldn't do a full English justice either day - Graham ate most of mine on the Saturday and I went for the continental on Sunday!) Our only regret is not meeting Tiger - he wasn't lounging about when we were in :) Thank you both for a lovely stay. Dotty managed another rosette and a trophy on the Sunday to add to her two from Saturday - we have to return the trophy at the show next year so we'll be back! x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateClax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a lovely 3 night stay.Made very welcome by Amanda and Michael even though we turned up too early.They really put you at ease and all through the stay everything is so informal, right down to the honesty bar in the lounge. Good selection of bottled local ales too.Loads of very useful local guides available and the hosts had plenty of advice on where to visit and eat.Breakfasts are wonderful, all served on Royal Worcester crockery.we enjoyed our stay and our dog Bailey was made very welcome too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkavenuefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were greeted warmly by both Michael and Tiger the cat on arrival. Michael took my bags up to the room and Tiger wanted attention - a beautiful little cat! The bed was ever so comfortable and was massive which meant we had very refreshing night's sleep. The shower was powerful and relaxing. Amanda was also very friendly booking a table at a local pub for us to ensure we had an evening meal. Both had extensive knowledge of the local attractions and took and interest in what you did during the day. The breakfasts were also delicious and filling. I would return to the Harrabeer if in the area and recommend to other visitors. Over all a very pleasant, comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
1.8 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
615 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
15.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
225 reviews
4.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 9 in Yelverton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrabeer Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrabeer Country House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range: $100 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrabeer Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is small, quiet and family owned offering many attributes of a small HOTEL, with the informality of a BED and BREAKFAST, graded as 4 gold star GUEST ACCOMMODATION and a previous finalist for AA Landlady of the Year. There are 6 comfortable bedrooms: all with ensuite/private bathroom facilities. There are adjoining rooms with a privacy door for families and all rooms are suitable for single occupancy at a reduced room rate. Partake of locally sourced food and wine in the attractive restaurant and enjoy the relaxed surroundings in a gracious sitting room. A wood burning stove burns on cooler evenings in our newly refurbished bar which have uncovered many of the original features that had been lost for decades: or sit in the small but secluded garden when warmer. There are 2 beautiful SELF-CATERING suites in a sympathetically converted barn. Our “self-caterers” are welcome in-house to enjoy the bar, breakfast and evening meals if they wish. HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is conveniently located for an extensive range of outdoor activities on and around Dartmoor with a host of interesting places to visit yet only 5 miles from the award winning market town of Tavistock and 9miles from the city of Plymouth for high street shopping, nightlife and theatre. Major credit cards accepted. We think we have it all ... and with a smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harrabeer Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrabeer Country House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing