We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween..”
Review of The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Recently under new ownership, The Devon Tors Bar and Restaurant is a traditional country Pub serving good beer and home cooked food at a good price. We are a warm and welcoming establishment where all the family and dogs are more than welcome. A choice of inside and outside seating areas. We have ample parking at the front and back of the Devon Tors and are on the main bus routes from Plymouth and Tavistock. We sell several Local Ales from the Dartmoor Brewery and have different guest ales every week along with a vast selection of lager and ciders. Home cooked food is available every day from 12 through to 8.15. From curries to pasties, we have something for everybody throughout the day.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal,ribs n wings were perfect so was the surf n turf.the kids were made 2 feel very welcome.perfect evening x

5  Thank nikkiparklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasille G, Owner at The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks for your review, our next themed evening is Chinese New Year on the 30th, we hope to see you then! Ally and Vas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent service and value for money. Obviously a favourite with the locals and we too were made to feel very welcome.
Good food in a relaxed atmosphere.
Wish we could have stayed for the quiz! We will definitely be back in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank towsermowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasille G, Owner at The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We're so glad you had a good time in our pub! We run a quiz night first Thursday of every month, which we would love to see you at in the future. Thanks so much for your review. Ally and Vas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nothing starchy or stuffy here. More a locals than trippers pub but everyone is welcome. Big walk around linked bar area. Seems to occupy much of the basements of old houses or an hotel. Has a bit of character but not very cohesive decorating. Several good beers and a big hearted menu. Nothing fancy but well priced. We came in a group of ten on a Thursday night and had a very good time. As other reviewers have noticed, Vasilli, the landlord is no more than average height but is a loud welcoming and dynamic, larger than life figure, who with his team, are using all their energy to bring this place to life. They may well succeed.

9  Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasille G, Owner at The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you during 2014 in which we're soon to be seasonally altering our menu, to include some new exciting choices! Thank you again. Ally and Vas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

really nice pub, good people and amazing food. The theme evenings provide really good food for a nice price. drinks are reasonably priced and it has all a pub needs. i'd like to see a bit more decorations on some of the walls.

6  Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasille G, Owner at The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time spent at the Devon Tors. We hope to see you again soon in 2014, and hopefully now you should see some more decorations on the walls! Ally and Vas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rough and ready pub with an entertaining mix of folksy down market but fun features. Competitively priced booze. Big and changing menu or routine but hearty pub food with large portions and low prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasille G, Owner at The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are continually trying to cater for everybody, which includes a wide mix of people. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Ally and Vas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devon Tors Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing