We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Dartmoor/Buckland Monochoram”
other travelers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jules1609
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dartmoor/Buckland Monochoram ”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a week here with our dog Roxie. Carol and Andrew were there to meet us and gave us a guided tour of the cottage. The accommodation was very clean and tidy with tea, coffee, milk and biscuits to welcome us.
Sadly, the weather was atrocious for most of the week with torrential rain and high winds. This really did limit us, as visibility on the moors was poor and we had a dog with us so many indoor attractions were sadly out of bounds.
The kitchen is well equipped. Bed is comfy. Shower is good within the spacious en suite.
My only negative comments (and not complaints) are that the TV is very small and it would have been nicer to have a big two seater sofa facing the TV to snuggle up on, particularly with such inclement weather. Perhaps a DVD player too.
Don't let the fact that the accommodation is within the owners grounds put you off. Carol and Andrew are very friendly and so dog friendly. They have two dogs, Quito an old boy (Labrador) and Archie, a 10 week old Lakeland Terrier. Both adorable. Archie loved chasing our dog!
The local pub is a few steps away and very welcoming. The bar area is dog friendly. Food good.
Dartmoor itself is beautiful. Rolling hills, sheep, ponies, goats, cows and bulls with some great bird life.
Lots of beaches within a reasonable distance and the Burrator reservoir is 10 minutes away.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda B
1 review
“Charming cottage with Dartmoor on your doorsteps”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We just spent a week in this fantastic cottage. Whe we arrived, we got welcomed by the owners, Carol and Andrew. The cottage is clean and crisp and has everything you need. The kitchen is well equiped and also the bathroom has everything you need.
We used the cottage as a basis for our travel through the South-West and having the best weather you can think of, we made wonderful trips and were able to see a lot. Last but not least a very warm thank you to Carol and Andrew, we loved meeting you and Quito of course. If we visit dartmoor again we will definitely come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hos1e
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a Five Star accomodation”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home having spent 10 days in this perfectly charming Lodge at Bedford Cottage. We were met by our Hosts, Andrew and Carol, who, over the course of our holiday, proved very friendly, approachable and eager to make sure our stay enjoyable.

Situated on the edge of Dartmoor, a short walk from the Lodge leads to many walks without the necessity of using the car. Whilst we completed many walks, we have not fully explored this area and look forward to returning some time in the future, and will make Bedford Cottage our first choice for accommodation. (We also noted that the area was ideal for Cyclists too).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAKH
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended - a real gem”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Lodge is a real gem set in a charming village of the Devonshire countryside.
It's bright, cosy, very comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is perfect for visiting the many interesting places in the region; e.g. walking distance to the Garden house, a short drive to Buckland Abbey. A charming village pub serving good food is just across the road. Very easy access to the moor, Yelverton and Tavistock.

The owners, Carol and Andrew are outstanding hosts who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed (which we had).
It really does make such a big difference when the hosts treat their guests with such warmth and kindness and we loved our week's stay in this little gem of a cottage.
I mustn't forget to mention the owners adorable Labrador, Quito, who added to the pleasure of our stay with his loving greetings. We were sorry we had to leave and would love to visit again. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDClogs
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A return to this little haven”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Twelve months after our first visit to the Lodge, we returned and found it just as lovely as we remembered. Carol and Andrew continue to make this the perfect country get-away for couples.

This time we visited Buckland Abbey, which was very interesting with pretty gardens, but our primary reason for coming to Dartmoor was to get some walking in, and the Lodge is ideally situated, with more walks than you could count within a short drive and a couple which can be made directly from the cottage. The highlights of our walking this year were seeing a badger at Powdermills (near Postbridge) and the superb views from the top of Sheeps Tor (near Burrator Reservoir).

The kitchen at the Lodge is well-equipped for eating in and there are some great food suppliers at the Pannier Market in Tavistock. Eating out is also a treat, with the Drake Manor Inn within two minutes' walk of the cottage. The only foodie treat we didn't fit in this time was a Devon cream tea, which means we will have to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic place, with Great hosts”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Having just arrived home from staying at The Lodge at Bedford Cottage for 5 Wonderful nights, I felt I had to write a review of the place. On arrival you are met by Carol and Andrew, who are your hosts, they cannot do enough for you. very friendly and full of the kind of information you want, to make your stay the best possible. The accommodation" The Lodge" was great, clean and modern with everything you could possibly need. It is ideally positioned for you to explore Dartmoor and further afield if you wish. In the lodge their is a pack of information covering everything about the area. I would recommend this place to anyone and we will be booking it again. PS the very nice pub is only two minutes walk away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_djvp1624
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful lodge in a beautiful village”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A spacious clean & comfortable accommodation with an excellent welcome from the hosts, Carol & Andrew & their lovely dog Quito. This is a great base for walks around Dartmoor (my favourite being Two Rivers starting in the village). Also close to Plymouth & Tavistock & I can recommend Cotehele. I really enjoyed my stay but a week was not long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing