We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ride of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tor Royal Stables

Tor Royal Stables
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Yelverton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trekking Stable in the centre of Dartmoor, ride out over history on our sturdy horses and ponies, lovely qualified Staff short and long rides to suit your ability. All ages 4 - 104 as long as you are able to get on (and off) the horse!
sallybear1975
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ride of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

After booking a weeks holiday to Devon with two horse mad teenagers all they asked from the moment we arrived was if they could ride on Dartmoor. After a bit of a search on the internet we came across Tor Royal Stables. After a chat with the staff, we were welcomed for a hack out on Dartmoor. With both girls being very experienced they were worried that they wouldn't be allowed to do much having not ridden the horses there before. Not the case at all. They had the ride of a lifetime. They still talk about it non stop over a month later and cannot wait to return next year when we will be booking a longer ride. The drizzle and mist did nothing to dampen their exciting ride and I cannot thank the staff and horses enough for a wonderful memorable time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sallybear1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
at home
Level Contributor
396 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Wonderful location & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The scenery in this part of Dartmoor is breathtaking & a pony trek across the wild moors will be a delightful highlight of your trip!

We didn't actually get to pony trek since our daughter had broken her clavicle two weeks before, but we had planned this trip & our stay at Tor Royal with this specific intent.

The service was outstanding, a trek for our family with two guides...one advanced to take our daughter cantering & one to stay with those of us non-experienced riders as we walked along was more than anyone could ever ask for!

Although we weren't able to ride, we were still treated to a lovely barnyard tour & good directions for finding the local Dartmoor Ponies. We expressed this interest in seeing the ponies in the morning & learned that if she had known earlier she would have brought one into the yard for us to visit!

Now, that's what I call service!
Definitely don't miss a trek on the wild moors with Tor Royal! (and don't forget to ask the history of the place...it's quite fascinating & has much to do with the Dartmoor Pony breed)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and i booked a 90 minute ride and we had a great time. The owner and her daughter were delightful and managed to give me confidence which was no mean feat as i had a fall a number of years ago and lost my nerve. The horses are forward going but were matched perfectly for our skills. I would recommend this to anyone. Genuinely nice people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClareBSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We purchased a Groupon voucher for our 4 year old daughter which included tack and lesson lasting 90 mins. She had a lovely time! The staff were so friendly and helpful, can't praise them enough, will definitely re-book.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kinikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to go riding with them again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Myself and 3 work colleages also used a Groupon voucher (booked in advance of the closing date of 30th September) We had a fabulous afternoon on the moors. The staff were very friendly and we could not fault anything. The horses were well looked after and the whole place had a very warm homely feel about it.
The lady riding with us was very patient and made me feel very confident especially as it was my first horse riding experiance.
I will be definately booking more sessions with this stables :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tor Royal Stables also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park
 
Dartmeet, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Tor Royal Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing