We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on the Moors.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“An oasis on the Moors.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Whilst much travelled, we don't write reviews - one man's meat is another man's poison. But here we must make an exception. This Hotel is the closest that we have ever found to 'perfect'.
From the moment you turn off the road, it seems like another world. The gardens and the surrounding moors start to calm you down.
From reception to the cleaners, the staff are wonderful, with their 'nothing is to much trouble' attitude. Our room was perfect, very clean, the beds comfortable, plenty of hot water - we prefer to bath - and an amazing view of the gardens from the windows.
The food - whether room service or a Gala Dinner - is remarkable, worthy of return visits just to make sure that we were right about it this time. And we will be back, hopefully three times a year for three day breaks. We are of an age where dependability is vital. The Moorland Gardens gives us just that. Thank you all concerned for a very special time.

Room Tip: Deal direct with the Hotel, nothing is to much trouble for them. You only have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quilpusha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Quilpusha2013,

Thank you very much for most kind review following your recent stay with us. We were all very pleased to see how much you enjoyed everything about the hotel and especially the way the staff looked after you.

We look forward to seeing you here again at the hotel in the coming months.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    167
    76
    35
    20
See reviews for
132
293
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
portland uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

the moorland garden hotel is a hotel which should be on your must stay list if ever in devon, my wife and i have just stayed for one night 22/09/13 for what can only be descibed as the perfect stay. The hotel is set in delightful grounds just south of yelverton, on arrival we were upgraded to a balcony room (great start) which was very spacious with a large balcony overlooking the gardens the room was equiped with the usual t.v. tea and coffee facilities and also had the most beautiful bathroom. we took evening meal in the restaurant which can only be described as exceptional !! with excellent freindly and polite service (possibly the best we have encountered) the breakfast the following morning also being first rate. We will definately be staying here again and will recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: book a balcony room to get the best out of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theterradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear theterradave,

Thank you very much for your glowing review following your visit here last weekend. I am very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that we got everything right for you. The team will be very pleased to see your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

i have just returned home after attending a wedding at the moorland Garden Hotel the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble my 10 year old grandaughter and I shared a twin bedded room which was lovely the bathroom was spacious and I was impressed with the shower which was so powerful the breakfast was very good we both opted for thesmoked haddock and scrambled eggs which we had to order but there was plenty of everything full english etc cereal toast dident have time to explore the grounds unfortunatly as i had to leave to catch a train this hotel is right in the heart of Dartmoor which would be good for a get away from it all break as well as being only a twenty minute drive from Plymouth city centre making it an excellant choice for exploring both the city and the beautiful Devon countryside I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a hotel to anyone who wants a luxery break at an affordable price

Room Tip: you need a car as this Hotel is out on the edge of Dartmoor National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Jane H

Thank you for your full and kind review after your stay here for a wedding in June, I was very pleased to see how well we looked after you and your granddaughter over the weekend.

As your visit was brief and filled with the wedding we would very much like to see you again so you can make the most of our grounds, the moors nearby and Plymouth too!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked an overnight stay for our wedding anniversary, the dog of course came too. We were given a garden room which had two dog bowls, a small dog bed & a practical wooden floor. Very useful door hang saying 'Beware dog in room'. Large comfortable super king bed. Only downside to room is that toilet roll holder is in a very awkward position.

We ordered afternoon tea (£11.95). This was more than enough for 2 people to share. The white & brown sandwich fingers were delicious, so was the lemon cake & brownie, however the two huge scones were were a disappointment, when cut though they looked & felt extremely dense & heavy, they had apparently been baked first thing in the morning (8 hrs earlier) I was told by a member of staff 'they were lovely then'. Lots of clotted cream & mixed very jam were provided, but such a shame for what would have been a lovely experience. We were allowed to bring the dog with us into the lounge which was a nice touch. Strike 1

I ordered roast pepper soup as a starter at dinner & it arrived luke warm. I asked for it to be sent back & a new bowl arrived a little later so hot it was impossible to eat it without suffering burns. The third bowl that arrived was perfect & tasted delicious.

We asked for a jug of water to be told 'sorry you should have been given one already'.

My husband & I both ordered belly pork as our main course. It was far too salty & came with 5 small stuffing dumplings which were tasteless & stodgy, These were apparently our portion of 'carbs', so no potatoes. The pork was served on a portion of spinach the size of a dessert spoon.
Dinner ... Strike 2

For breakfast I ordered porridge which arrived with a hair on top.... Strike 3.
There are also no breakfast menus so you can't know what else,other than the buffet offering, is available.

Our waitress told us that when the hotel is less busy the breakfast is served to table & but when they are busy it is served 'buffet' style.There was a wedding party at the hotel, the Saturday evening we were staying. Could the sloppiness with the food standards be put down to not being able to cope at weekends when there is also a large party to cater for? If this is the reason, the issue needs to be resolved, as it should not be an excuse for disappointing standards where food is concerned. If you stayed mid week I am sure things would be different.

The issues were reported to management & upon checkout we were not charged for the cost of our dog's stay (£10). A nice gesture, but the issues we encountered should not have arisen in the first place. Such a shame as it had the potential to have been a lovely experience. Great location, dog friendly & nice rooms. Would be nice to have a dog bin or two, as we couldn't find anywhere to dispose of dog waste.

Waitress Lorrah is an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear devonbeauty,

Thank you for your thorough review following your stay with us last weekend, I do apologise again for the shortcomings you experienced. As you will see from our other recent reviews this is very much an isolated case and I am very sorry that all three unnecessary incidents happened to you both.

Following your very valuable feedback we have been reviewing our processes to make sure we make the right improvements and our safeguards are working properly. If you were to feel able to return I am sure you will see the difference.

I am pleased to see that you did enjoy the other aspects of your stay and thank you for sharing these too. We will look at what we can offer by way of a dog hygiene disposal service.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

A Travelzoo voucher was the reason for our visit to this hotel! whilst a few reviews seemed to be less than totally happy with the hotel I for one and the. wife for another one were totally and utterly pleased with the overnight stay. On arrival at the hotel the receptionist was extremely pleasant and efficient in dealing with our booking in and it took less than a minuet to get us booked in and on our way to a nice quiet room, there was a wedding function taking place that evening but the receptionist assured my of a quiet room, and it was perfect. the room was very clean and tidy and the bathroom was outstanding and very modern (never used a square toilet before?) using the shower was an experience on its own! super powerful and super hot.
The bar was very busy with there being a wedding reception taking place, but the service was quite good and the staff very pleasant (my only complaint would be that why oh why do all hotels have to charge so much for soft drinks?)
On arrival at the dining room we were showing to our table by a very delightful young lady, who then took our drinks order and presented us with the evenings menu. being of the Travelzoo option only allowed us a two course meal but we opted for the three course for an extra £5. there was a bit of a wait for the first course to arrive, but as the food is freshly made it was well worthwhile. the service was very good and there was a nice pleasant gap between each course.
An excellent nights sleep on excellent comfortable beds allowed us to wake in the morning both relaxed a looking forward to a full English breakfast, and we were not disappointed! the breakfast was one on the best we have had at busy hotels, again service was good and efficient without being overbearing.
Well done to all the staff for a wonderful nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinhoediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Pinhoediner,

Thank you for your very kind and thorough review following your stay with us earlier this month. It was a real pleasure to see that we got so much right for you and that you were able to have such an enjoyable break.

Do please come and see us again - seasonal offers appear on our website!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem set within the fantastic Dartmoor landscape. Food is fantastic. Rooms are huge and well equipped. The staff are extremely helpful and VERY polite. Recently had a family wedding here and it simply could not have been better.

Room Tip: Hotel does have one disabled room but access to all areas is not always possible for wheelchair user...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spectrum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Spectrum54,

Thank you for your kind review following your stay here recently for a wedding. I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay and how good my team were with you all.

I hope you will be able to make the trip across the Tamar again soon!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would describe the Moorland Garden Hotel as average and worthy of the 3 star tripadvisor rating I'm giving it. The hotel is looking somewhat 'tired' in my opinion examples that spring to mind are the peeling wallpaper in the lounge and dated decor in several areas of the hotel (i.e. it needs some investment). On the plus side the food at both breakfast and dinner was of a high standard (although we waited 30 minutes before our order was taken for dinner and then waited a further 35 minutes for the meal as we had not ordered a first course) and our room was very clean. In terms of value we were on the Travelzoo deal so no complaints there. Generally not a bad hotel but have stayed in better for around the same rack rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deaf-ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear deaf-ears,

Many thanks for your kind and honest review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and found the hotel clean. I do appreciate the reminder that we still have work to do on our refurbishment project, while we have completed a lot of projects in the last two years there is still more to do which is being planned over this winter.

Do come back and see us again, I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised by what you see!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
649 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
503 reviews
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,044 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
494 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing