We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value last minute booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorland Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value last minute booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked this hotel on a Saturday night just half an hour before turning up at 8.45 (forgotten appointment), and were greeted nicely both on the phone and in person, despite the fact that we were booking very late and there was a wedding party in progress. Food in the restaurant was better than expected, although there was a hiccup with a desert, which staff dealt with very professionally. No wine listed by the glass on the wine menu is probably an error that could be rectified... Fortunately we ended up happily drinking by the bottle instead! The room was rather smaller than those pictured on the website, but perfectly adequate for our needs, a comfortable bed and modern clean bathroom, away from the noise of the wedding party noise. The situation right at the edge of the National Park made for a lovely drive and a walk in the morning. If the wedding party hadn't been using it, there was a lovely terrace overlooking the garden. Good quality at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireLiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear WiltshireLiz,

Thank you for your kind and helpful review following your stay with us recently, it was very pleasing to read that we looked after you well and you were able to enjoy your visit to the full.

Thank you for the feedback on the wines by the glass - i will look into this very shortly with my Restaurant Manager.

Having found us now I hope you will be able to return for a more leisurely visit!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    155
    69
    33
    17
See reviews for
117
275
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. I was told on booking that there was a wedding taking place on the day of our stay and told they would put us in a quiet room. We were not disappointed, we were given room 227 which is a premier double and a very pleasant room with views over the gardens. We booked Bed and Breakfast so ate out and returned to the wedding reception in full swing however the service wasn't affected and we were dealt with promptly. The weather was beautiful so we had the window open in the room which meant there was some noise from the reception but nothing to bother us and when we settled down and shut the window there was very little noise. We had a good nights sleep (the bed was very comfortable) and had a very nice breakfast which was a buffet style with hot and cold options. Overall a lovely stay and would definitely recommend and return for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Sharon B,

Many thanks for your kind review following your anniversary stay with us recently. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and that my team was able to look after you as promised.

It was also good to see that you were able to enjoy the hotel and Dartmoor in the good weather!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We made a booking at the very last minute and needed somewhere that was dog friendly! When I rang the hotel, the lady I spoke to was extremely helpful and found us a doggy friendly room, and it was booked with no fuss.

The hotel itself is lovely, set in lovely grounds just on the outskirts of Dartmoor. The rooms are a good size, clean, lovely bathroom, and ours had a dog bed and two dog bowls.

Every member of staff we spoke to were all extremely helpful and friendly, they are an absolute credit to the hotel! We felt very well looked after, especially when they let us have the restaurant menu in the bar (dogs are only allowed in the bar) and a table in the bar was especially set up for us for breakfast.

We ate from the Wildflower Restaurant menu and it was delicious, as was breakfast in the morning.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. A really lovely hotel, we will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoodleABV0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear AnnaVaernes,

Very many thanks for your kind review following your stay with us last weekend. It was a pleasure for us to look after you all and I am delighted that you found my team so helpful and accommodating and the food good.

We look forward to your next visit, plenty to see and do around here!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the first time we had visited the Moorland Garden Hotel since it changed its name from The Moorland Links Hotel and acquired new owners. We are local people and had heard good reviews of the food. So, for the occasion of my birthday took the plunge and booked a table. From the moment we arrived we could see that the staff were overly stretched. We were ushered into a lounge area by the gentleman on the reception desk and saw no-one for at least 20 minutes. We were slightly early so this didn't bother us much but we are accustomed, at other places we regularly visit to eat, to be offered drinks not just to be left alone without another word. When we eventually ordered and sat down to eat the whole meal took nearly 3 hours! Having said that the food was wonderful and the waiting staff (two girls and Simon the acting manager) were friendly, professional and very apologetic about the wait. Simon offered that our wine be free of charge as an apology which we readily accepted. I would highly recommend the food but hope that on our next visit they have enough staff to cope with the amount of people they have booked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannabetraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Wannabetraveller59

Thank you for your kindly written review following your visit for dinner on Tuesday evening. i do apologise for the time dinner took, this is far from normal for us and was due largely to some timing issues with the party we had in coinciding with our other guests.

I was pleased to read that you did enjoy the food and do appreciate your comments regarding Simon and the service team. We would very much like you to come back and give us another opportunity to show you how we normally work.

Thank you again for your comments and observations, they are very useful to us in our efforts to improve.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff at this superbly located hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a touch of luxury in a special location.

The food was excellent and the quality of the room equally so.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear johnwells9

Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us - I was very pleased to see that my team looked after you so well.

Keep in touch and we hope to see you soon

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned home having spent two nights at the Moorland Garden Hotel.

We booked the hotel last year so that we could attend a friends wedding.

On arrival at the hotel the breakdown of our initial bill showed that the room rate was £100 per night. I had booked the room last year and had been quoted £75 (via email) this was questioned right away with the reception staff and I was only charged £75. The Reception team where helpful at all times.

The rooms where good and the bed huge, the bathroom was also on the large size, the only downfall in the room was that the hot water took an age to come through. Plenty of towels and the bed was made up on a daily basis.

The breakfast is help yourself, with the eggs cooked to order. The breakfast was of a good standard with a good variety, including cereal and pastries.

On our first night we had a bar meal and can say that it was of a very good standard and good value for money. We did not go into the main restaurant, but the prices seemed to be what you would expect from a hotel.

The vicinity of the hotel is excellent and would advise a trip into Tavistock, a small quaint town about 10 mins drive.

In all this hotel is worth the money and I would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in this area, with the staff being helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazGosportHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear GazGosportHampshire,

Thank you very much for you positive review after your stay with us last weekend, I was very pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. Apologies for the error on the room rate and I'm glad we resolved this for you quickly - we're working on the hot water system too!

Do come again - would be good for you to see some more of what we do and the other things to do in the area.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got married at this Hotel in early May of this year and we had a truly outstanding experience. Andrew, Laura and the rest of the team were faultless with their service and attention to detail. The waiting staff and chamber maids were efficient and delightful. We really felt like a King and Queen! The grounds were beautiful and well kept, the food was outstanding and the Crystal Room was an absolutely stunning place for our wedding breakfast. Everything ran smoothly and we made so many lovely memories - we wish we could do it again and we wouldn't change a thing!

We thoroughly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue or for a short break. Beautiful in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Simon P,

Thank you for your very generous review here, it was a real pleasure for us to look after you both and your families on your wedding day. We really do appreciate your comments, they make everything so worthwhile.

Enjoy your honeymoon when you can get away over half term and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
19.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing