We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviewed restaurant only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Reviewed September 10, 2012

On arrival for our Sunday lunch we unfortunately were not expected because our booking had gone awol, however, the staff quickly sorted out a table for us. Our main problem was the meal itself which was very poor, ( we made no complaint at the time as this meal was being bought for us). The leek and potato soup was weak and very bland, the pasta dish was under cooked and tasteless, and the desserts of bread and butter pudding had been warmed in the micro wave oven and was rubbery with custard and not clotted cream as on menu. There was no changing facilities for our baby, and we were told we could change him on the floor in the ladies, which is totally unacceptable, we were then shown into a previously used and unmade bedroom to change him on the floor there instead. On our return to our table the hot drinks had arrived and imagine my surprise at being brought as a hot chocolate drink, 1 sachet of hot chocolate with hot water to make your own! Unfortunately this review is not a good advert, and as such is the first poor review I have ever made. A return at the moment is highly unlikely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Sally S,

Thank you for your review here following your family lunch here on Sunday. May I apologise for the disappointment you experienced. Please be assured we have taken steps to address the concerns you raised, your observations are very useful to me to help us improve our food offering and service.

Please can you contact me at the hotel, I would like to discuss this with you further.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 631 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for one night with my 5 year old grand-daughter. This is an excellent hotel very clean and friendly. Breakfast was superb. Room very large with a lovely view of garden. Situated in a good area for visting Plymouth and the Nation Park. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOONERGAL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Goonergal2009,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services here and that the staff were friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had my daughters wedding reception here on Friday 24th August. Cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. The rooms we had were excellent and the food was excellent. A special mention must be made of the wedding butler, David Earl. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he really made the day go smoothly. Cannot praise him enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Sandy C

Many thanks for your kind review. It was a real pleasure or us all to share the day with you. We do appreciate the positive feedback, will pass onto the team.

Hope to see you all again shortly

regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I would like to say we have just go married on 28th july 2012. The hotel was fabulous, the staff all excellant and the wedding butler made are day so very special, anyone wanting or having a wedding here, they have no problems the day and the following day food, breakfast wonderfull. good day all around.

karen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your review, I was really pleased to read that you had such a good time on your wedding day. It was a real pleasure for us to host this celebration for you, I will pass on your thanks to the team.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel while on business in Devon and I am so pleased I did. From the moment I arrived the service was superb, on a par with anything in London's five star hotels and the welcome was so warm too. Nothing was too much trouble, my car had a flat battery they found me jump leads, I needed some coconuts hollowed out (don't ask lol) five minutes later it was done, we had to leave before breakfast was officially served they areanged it earlier, and this was across the board from manager to waiting staff. Oh and our evening meal was excellent.

In conclusion I hope to visit again soon and my congratulations to the management on their excellent team.

Best wishes

Martin harper
Senior producer
Itv1's This Morning programme

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatstand12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Hatstand12345,

Thank you for your kind review, really glad we were able to help you and your team while you were here. It was a pleasure to have you with us and good for us to have the little fun challenges you sent our way, like the coconuts!

We look forward to having you back, either for work or a break, hope the rest of your trip was a success too.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel and checked in we were greeted by a very nice man on reception. We were given room 226, and upon entering the room first impressions were very good. However that was not to last,and upon checking the bathroom we discovered that the toilet seat although clean, was quite old and badly discoloured and we noticed that the carpet was threadbare in the bedroom.. But overall the room was very clean and quite spacious, and I must say that the bed was very comfortable indeed. Sadly when we used the shower in the morning even after running it for some time (this was advised by reception when we told them about it) did not make any difference and not once in all the time we were there did we experience a hot shower. When we had finished showering we had trouble turning it off and had to use two hands and sometimes a towel for grip. Heaven help you if you were frail and didn't have much strength. Also the taps leaked around the base of the sink when we turned them on too. These are simple and minor irritations, and should have been addressed before a guest came to stay in the room. When looking in the information book there was no mention of the free wifi which was mentioned on their website, and only found how to access this by more luck than judgement. Furthermore, there was no mention of ironing facilities and only after mentioning this to reception we were told that there was an ironing room above reception, they do not deliver an iron or board to the rooms, this too was not mentioned in the information book. I do not mean to be critical about these little points, and hope that my comments will be taken on board. I would like to say that the restaurant is excellent both for breakfast and dinner and all the staff worked very hard indeed. Overall this hotel is very nice, with very hardworking and friendly staff, it is in a lovely position, the view from our room was fabulous. I understand that this hotel has only just been taken over in the past year or so, and things are sometimes overlooked when there is so much to do. I am sure that the problems I have mentioned above are work in progress and will be addressed in time. Would I come back again? Yes I think that I would once the little problems are sorted out and all the work is completed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view, as the other side is the car park. Our room was a premium double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicensweetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear nicensweetEssex,

Thank you for your very objective and helpful review. We are already addressing the technical issues you raised - the new shower is already on order and will be replaced very shortly, along with the toilet seat.

I will review the guest information folders so we can make sure we are properly up to date and will also consider some better ways of letting people know about the WiFi around the hotel. We are in the process of updating our ironing offering, I could not let us continue with the old ironing station on the first floor, we now have a portable iron and board that we can take to the guest's room and will be adding to this shortly. My long term aim is to have an iron and board in every room.

Thank you too for the very positive comments about the things we did get right. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you can get back, I am sure you will see more progress then.

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here with my family on a two night break between camping trips. Loved the hotel. The building is fantastic and the grounds are wonderful. We spent some time playing boule on the lawns whilst enjoying a drink in the sun - very memorable. The room was massive, luxurious and had a great view of the grounds. Parking was ample and the whole hotel had a feeling of space and freedom. This it not a 5 star establishment but for the money it was incredibly good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archaeohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Archaeohobo,

Thank you for your review, I'm very pleased we looked after you during your break and that you were able to make good use of our lovely gardens and grounds.

Do come back and we'll do our best for some more sunshine for you!

Regards

Andrew

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.5 mi away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
475 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
524 reviews
12.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
677 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price Range: $65 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing