We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was okay but atmosphere and staff not good!”
Review of The Rock Inn

The Rock Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Yelverton
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This popular pub has been owned by the same family since the 1880.s.We still offer a great range of local, high quality ales, Westcountry ciders and a varied wine list. Our Chef uses really local produce for her very tasty menu, come and try some of our pies, curries, Sunday roasts or just a Cream Tea. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was okay but atmosphere and staff not good!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wandered over here from our B&B to get an evening meal. The menu looked good - I opted for roast turkey with all the trimming and my husband went for the steak and ale pie which were both specials. All I can say is if you like your food microwaved and with a skin on it, eat here. I expected a higher quality for the price. I'm not a fussy person as long as I am getting what I pay for! My potatoes and parsnips tasted like they have been deep fried (but unsuccessfully - they were raw in the middle!) and the turkey was processed. The meat in the pie was plentiful but incredibly tough considering. The staff were airing on rude and we will definitely be driving to a different pub should we stay in Yelverton again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady13, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Sarah C, I apologise if you were unhappy with my staff when you visited for supper. Regarding your meal, I regret you did not make your feeling known at the time as the problems would have been resolved immediately by the manager, by either a replacement meal or a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    134
    53
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad food.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I can't believe how bad the food is here and it isnt that cheap. I could right an essay about how poor the food actually is but cauliflower cheese with no cauliflower is cheese sauce. In general whole tables food was poor have never eaten there since and wont be again. The only reason this doesnt have a 1 star rating is the farmers bar is warm and comfortable and the ale is good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank spotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady13, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Spotm, Oh dear, I wish you had brought your issues to the attention of my manager who would have resolved them immediately. I hope you will give us another chance one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Rugged Rock Recognises Dariusdave's Requirements”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Rock Inn Yelverton Devon
Visit Sunday Lunch 9th September 2012
Where do we take aged loved family members for Sunday lunch where they will be welcome?

Many establishments these days want fast turnover, and seem to worship at The Altar of Youth burgers relish for veggies and chips with everything. Food from the back of Lorries carted from processing factories devoid of texture, flavour or any nutritional value.

Where is there a menu that offers real food, fresh veggies, local fish and grass fed well hung meat? What establishments offer good quality real food well presented on plates or dishes suited to octogenarians whose teeth and jaws survived World War 11 rationing?

Answer The Rock at Yelverton, full to overflowing most Sundays. Clientele from babes on bottles to seniors, cyclists, walkers, young families with grannies, and groups of pensioners enjoying a weekly reunion all of these and more were present on our latest visit. If you want to come along then phone to book as last Sunday’s sunshine seemed to bring half of Plymouth to Dartmoor and Yelverton.

If it is a traditional Sunday Roast The Rock offers traditional beef, lamb, pork, chicken, duck and some veggie foods. All served with a good variety of real fresh seasonal veggies. Plus there are children’s portions and specials.

Then there are The Rock’s “Signature Dishes” a traditional Devon homemade Cottage Pie with the option of gravy in a boat, accompanied with a plethora of veggies (no tinned peas or geometrically perfect flavourless French beans). Dare Dariusdave suggest a perfect example of real food for those of us past the little 60?

The second Jail Ale (Dartmoor’s notorious Prison former home to London’s infamous Krays is just up the road) & Dartmoor Steak Pie (sometimes seasonally replaced with Chicken and leek) also with a gravy jug option real veggies. This Pie cannot be compared to the cheap supermarket pastry gravy and hunt the one piece of meat. It is the perfect answer to a cold winter’s day solidly packed with meat and beautiful brown pastry. An epicurean delight, served with a decent sized portion that might just leave room for a Sunday pud.

There is a third “Signature Dish” (the web site modestly mentions two) almost by accident for those of us who having returned octogenarian parent to their homes face the long drive back to Wiltshire’s clay fields. The cold meat platter, served with beef, pork and ham, healthy salad, fresh coleslaw, pickle and sauté potatoes. Great textures and flavour but not too heavy to send the driver into an afternoon sleep.

A select range of hot and cold puddings are available from wonderful homemade apple crumble with custard, cream or Devon’s clotted cream. Ice creams or sorbets from Langage farm with flavours to challenge children what say try forbidden to Dariusdave “thunder & lightening” and many more.

To lubricate the throat The Rock offers Real Ales, Cider, Wines (yes I fear they offer lager) and many years ago the Proprietor, aware of Dariusdave’s driving, introduced him to the pint glass with orange and mango topped off with lemonade.

Yes we have tried a great Saturday evening with local jazz band. Even better were the Devon sirloin steaks well worth the 165 miles from our Wiltshire.

The Rock is unashamedly traditional. We are almost always greeted by Sue (except for a well-deserved trip to Proms in The PARK) who always makes the effort to welcome mother and make her feel welcome. Traditions are maintained by the next generation David when not running half marathons or sponsored moustache growing is a colossus pulling pints. Many of the Sunday staff seem to have been at The Rock so long they are also like family. Long may this wonderful establishment keep serving us and their many happy regular customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Dariusdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady13, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dariusdave , you are a star to give us such a great review, especially as we have had a couple of bad knocks lately! I hope we continue to make you all happy, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst pub food i've had in a while”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went to the Rock Inn on Saturday 3rd November during lunchtime, it was the first time I had been to the place in four years or so, my last memory of the farmers bar was that it was a warm cozy bar with a hubbub of locals with a lovely atmosphere and good honest food. To my disappointment the atmosphere of old had disappeared. This may be due to the quality of the food. We paid £10.25 for the homemade pie of the day, which was chicken and leek. The food was 'warm' if not for the gravy it would have been colder. Everything lacked seasoning and flavour, the pie was particularly bland, the pastry was spongey and dry like it was heated in a microwave and the mash potato had a slight crispy topping and the peas were wrinkled indicating the food may have been spooned on the plate and heated. The chicken meat in the pie was like the kind of precooked sliced chicken pieces you buy prepackaged in a supermarket. All in all very disappointed, the food was substandard and certainly overpriced, not what I expected for the money. The pub should take a leaf out of the quality and pricing of other pubs in the area which serve considerably better food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruledbymystomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go there if you want a peaceful lunch.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been going to the Rock Inn for over 20 years but after this visit. We will not be returning. Arriving the same time as a large family we sat in the bar area away from the family as we could hear the children screaming as soon as we walked in the door. For more than an hour the little boy with the group continually screamed and ran in around the tables and bar area Everyone in the area were visably fed up by this point We noticed a signon the wall saying that children were not allowed in the bar area but this was ignored by the staff. The staff themselves were heard moaning to each other that the noise and children running around were awful but they did nothing to put an end to it. Finally we had enough and complained to the parents which was greeted by insults and tirade of abuse.

Once the family had left we asked to speak to the Manager and explained the situation. To our surprise we were told that it was the parents responsibility and had nothing to do with them. We couldn't believe what we were hearing. They were unwilling to acknowledge any responsibility with managing the behavior of their customers or ensure that their other customers received a good experience. If that child had knocked into a waitress and was scolded by hot food you could be sure that the parents would sue the owners and then they would have to take some responsibility. What should have been an enjoyable lunch turned into a very unpleasant experience. We will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lunchmunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landlady13, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Lunchmunch, I assure you the family in question were spoken to regarding their child numerous times, especially to point out that hot food would cause an injury. Parents have a reasponsibility to ensure the safety of their offspring and unfortunately despite many requests from the waitresses and bar staff to control the child, the parents attitude was liberal.
I understand you were unhappy, and regret that the father of the child was rude to you, but after 20 years of happy times, should this one unfortunate instance stop you coming here? S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Dousland, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing