We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
338
19
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
338
19
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor owners steve silent running fridge banana cake on arrival fresh milk perfect hosts dartmoor national park an excellent place to stay breakfasts were excellent guest house attention to detail perfect base tea and coffee local produce rock inn comfortable bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 358 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Spent one night with Angela and Stephen and wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the Burrator room which was lovely and roomy and so well equipped we couldn't have asked for more. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in. So nice to have fresh milk in the silent fridge but we didn't need it as Angela greeted us with a tray of tea and home-made gluten free cake. If, like me, you have coeliac disease and must follow a gluten free diet, this is definitely a place to stay. Plenty to offer on the breakfast menu and delicious. Barnabas House is set in a stunning area of Dartmoor National Park with lovely walks and places to visit in the area. It is very quiet but with good essential amenities within walking distance. Thanks to both of you for making us feel so welcome.

Room tip: Burrator room on the top floor at the rear of the property has great views - spacious and quiet. Stairs are wide and not too steep.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chs588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We've been enjoying the gluten free chocolate brownie too! Thank you for choosing Barnabas House for your celebration. Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

We stayed at Barnabas House for one night. We were met by the owner Steven who helped us with our luggage from the car. When inside we met his wife Angela. They were both very friendly and charming people. The B&B was very clean and our room was better than expected. There was even a private garden which we could have used (if it hadn't been raining!)
The lounge was very warm and comforting. There was a bar had we wanted a drink.
The bed was very comfortable and there was fresh milk for our tea/coffee.
The breakfast next day was sourced wherever possible from local suppliers and was really tasty. Steven and Angela really went the extra mile to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
We are hoping to come back in June

Room tip: The oom on the ground floor has a private garden
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevewhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again in June. Kind regards, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

It was a lovely experience. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming. The bed was extremely comfortable and of good quality. We were provided with a tray of homemade scones and jam, tea and coffee when we arrived ....just what we needed after a long drive.

Room tip: If you are visiting your children at Plymouth University it’s good place to stay just outside of the city.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope your trip was a success. Hope to see you again, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Steve and Angela were very nice hosts who clearly understand the business they are in, they know exactly what guests will want and expect,and they go the extra mile with many thoughtful little details to create an overall great experience.

The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. Bed very comfortable, sleep quality excellent! Silent running fridge, very thoughtful! Proper bottle of fresh milk in the fridge, large bottle of water, tea and coffee, high quality toiletries, little sensor lights all the way up the stairs, strong wifi. We also appreciated the off road parking.

Breakfast also got top marks from us, food was cooked and presented beautifully, plus the little touches like the fruit being fresh rather than from a tin, as you get in many places. The dining room was very appealing and clean. Patio area outside for the warmer months.

We had dinner across the main road at the Rock Inn (just a few minutes walk away), I recommend it, friendly people, nice food and some good local beers.

Barnabas House is very convenient for getting to Plymouth, and of course it is a great base for Dartmoor, plus by virtually being on the A386, you can easily get to North Devon as well.

We will surely stay here again, highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review - it means a lot to us when guests enjoy their stay so much they want to share their experience. Hopefully we shall see you again some day. Kind regards, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited and stayed for 2 nights in September.

To start we had to change the booking as we were only meant to be staying for one night and they were more than happy to sort this for us. They even moved us to a different room for the same price and the room was amazing.

The rooms are very spacious and homely, beds are really comfy and the bathroom is also very nice.

When we booked my partner also told them that we would be arriving at different times due to work and they told her that this would not be a problem. I arrived first and was greeted and invited into the property in a very happy inviting way. Nothing was too much trouble, Steve offered to take my bag and showed me what services they have to offer, he also said that if you need anything else we live through that door just ring the doorbell. I then met his wife Angela who was also very polite and said I hope you enjoy your stay.

Steve then showed me to our room and told me the basics in the room and gave me the key to access the premises and our room. Once my partner turned up I just went down and let her in so there was no need to trouble them again that evening.

When we headed down the next day Angela made a point of introducing herself to my partner as they had not met yet, as did Steve when we saw him later that day.

The breakfast was also really nice, they had cereal and fruit juice on the side to help yourself and then Steve came out and took our hot food order. This came out very promptly and was all freshly cooked and came from local sources and was cooked beautifully.

After our second night we asked if we could leave one of our cars there so we could go off for the day and they have limited parking at the property but this was still no trouble at all.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Barnabas house they are very friendly and welcoming couple. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 256danielw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela_and_Steve_P, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you Daniel W for your lovely review. It was genuinely lovely to meet you both. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your free room upgrade. 'Burrator' is an amazing room with fabulous views of Dartmoor. Hope to see you again, Angela and Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews