We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnabas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barnabas House
Ranked #1 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The room and bathroom were huge for a B&B and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We will be staying here again for more than 1 night when our summer arrives to go on great walks. There is also a great pub for food just a few minuets across the green which was recommended by the B&B hosts.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dan131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that everything went well on the big day - we thought of you as it turned out to be a gorgeous day, if a little cold. Look forward to seeing you again in the future, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
154
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights in two of the rooms. Extremely enjoyable visit, with hosts being more than welcoming. The only downside was that the beds were a little too springy, which isn't good for those suffering from back problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review, we really enjoyed meeting you all and are glad you had an good stay, despite the somewhat freezy weather. Sorry that you found the bed in room 7 unsuitable for your back, but the good news is that we are just about to replace it with a new kingsize bed. We are always very happy to try and advise a choice of room if we know your needs at time of booking. We would love to see you again if you decide to see more of Dartmoor in the future, thanks again, Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very comfortable and pleasant stay. Lovely room, good breakfast. So much nicer than soulless hotel we stayed in on the way down to Devon. Very relaxing break. Owners were very pleasant and helpful. The silent running fridge was a bonus. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks very much indeed for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed what was an unexpected stay with us, and hope everything went well. Hope to see you again in the future. Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our most recent visit for five nights after Christmas was the third time we've stayed at the Barnabas House. This time was different as we booked the whole house for friends and relatives attending a wedding. Carolyn deals with the admin with great efficiency; booking details were confirmed by email and room allocations adjusted to suit so that elderly friends could have a comfortable stay without coping with stairs. The welcome is always friendly with Ian on hand to carry the luggage. All our friends and relatives commented on how comfortable and well equipped their rooms were. The breakfast choice is outstanding with a wide choice of fresh and dried fruit, cereals, juices and an excellent 'full English' cooked by Ian and served professionally by Carolyn. We will certainly stay again when visiting the area and can recommend the Barnabas House without reservation.

Room Tip: Look at the helpful photos on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosalind001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou so much for writing your review - it was a real pleasure to have everyone here at Christmas for such a special occasion, and thankyou again for the beautiful floral arrangement you gave us.
We're very glad that everyone enjoyed their stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Carolyn & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very friendly welcome by Ian who carried my suitcase upstairs. Excellent well-appointed room with good bathroom. Double bed, single bed, settee, dressing table, tea/coffee/biscuits: home from home with an excellent breakfast every morning cooked by Ian and served by Carolyn. Stayed 3 nights over Christmas while visiting family nearby. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about Barnabas House, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Christmas, and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights early September. Great place; quiet but in lovely location. Friendly and welcoming owners and dog! Breakfast freshly cooked and very well presented. To use a cliche home from home. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, we're glad you and your family had a good time here, and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife, teenage son and myself spent a very enjoyable three nights in Barnabas House. We were in room 5 which has a small single room within. This may sound as if the main room was compromised but it was not with a good sized settee, wardrobe and side table, plus a generous amount of space. A silent fridge with a pint of milk was also in the room. The bathroom too was excellent with a 1.8m (6') bath and a large shower.
The breakfasts were very good, the fresh fruit salads were particularly appetising. My son liked the TV that had a DVD built in, we watched some good films in the evenings, Ian & Carolyn have a good selection of films and books that are available to borrow.
First class stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRocks317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn T, Owner at Barnabas House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us, we're glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was nice to meet some-one with a similar taste for Georgia O'Keefe. Hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
4.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabas House

Property: Barnabas House
Address: Barnabus House Harrowbeer Lane | Devon, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnabas House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcomed to our lovely Edwardian home with comfortable spacious rooms, designed to make you feel right at home. All rooms have modern bathrooms, colour TV/DVD/Freeview, hospitality tray with a large selection of teas/coffees/hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits. Bathrooms have large fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries and some have a bath as well as a shower. All rooms have a silent-running fridge stocked with fresh milk. In a great location for exploring Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall by car, cycle, bus or on foot. You can walk onto Dartmoor National Park in under 5 minutes, cycle straight onto the Drake's Trail, or utilise our great bus service to Plymouth/Tavistock/Okehampton and beyond. We have secure cycle storage and free on-site parking as well as high speed wi-fi in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnabas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabas House Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing