We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect tranquil cottage with warm welcoming...”
other travelers have booked this property
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016) Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016)
Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Wander around the garden  and find all the different colours that greet you at every corner.
Spring has arrived at Lane End Cottage.
An abundance of birds await you if you feed them.
You might even see the great spotted woodpecker.
You  may also be lucky enough to see the family of deer in the field beside the cottage.
April 2016 - new alpine and bird bath area.
A new surprise at every turn! Look out for the chickens!
Spring has arrived in the garden.
Looking out into the garden through the new patio doors while having dinner.
Eating dinner, looking out into the garden.
Settle in for the night with a tasty fire in the log burner.
Spend a quiet evening reading your favourite book, or choose from the library.
Plenty of storage for your belongings.
Wake up to the morning sunshine and the sound of the birds in the garden.
Our brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Relax in the conservatory, drinking tea, coffee or wine watching the birds.
Brand new Rayburn installed November 2015
Fall asleep in the sunshine while enjoying the conservatory!
The log burner will keep you warm on cold nights.
You could get distracted when washing the dishes and be lucky to see deer.
Christmas was a lovely celebration of all things local - tree, trimmings etc.
The chickens will come and great you!
Sit outside and enjoy an afternoon cream tea.
Spend time counting the fish.
Wander around the cottage garden.
Quintessential Devon countryside we are in an AONB. View driving to cottage.
Your view from the garden.
Quiet lane to the cottage.
Climb the famous Jacob's Ladder at Sidmouth.
Visit Lyme Regis, part of the Jurrasic Coastline, maybe you will be lucky to find a fossil.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steph590
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect tranquil cottage with warm welcoming owners”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just enjoyed another perfect weekend at Lane End Cottage . The cottage is in a tranquil location tucked at the far end of a tiny lane and everything has been thought of . You could cook a full roast in the spacious well equipped kitchen or just relax by the log burner with a glass of wine , our preferred option .
The only distraction is the friendly dog next door and the wide variety of birds that visit the garden .
A great spot for couples to relax x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thank you for such a great review, it was really good to see you both again. It was good that the snow had melted so you were able to get out and explore.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam S
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hideaway”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A lovely 1 bed cottage tucked away in the Devonshire countryside. Steve and Angela are wonderful hosts providing wine, milk, tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival. Beyond expectations but a lovely touch. The cottage is lovely and warm and cosy and we spent most of our evening reading in the conservatory when it was near zero outside. Plenty of books to read and jigsaws to play if u wish. The bedroom and bathroom upstairs are lovely and cosy and clean and very modern. The bathroom even has underfloor heating! All towels and bed linen included. Definitely coming back. Thanks again.

And watch out for the deer in the garden at breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The deer have been back again eating the roses!!! We look forward to seeing you again.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikeboz79
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The cottage is wonderful, comfortable, quiet and in a beautiful setting. Steve and Angela are excellent hosts, they made us feel so welcome and the bottle of wine on arrival was a nice touch. Fresh eggs in the morning were also delicious. My wife and I booked this for a weekend getaway and we were not disappointed. Will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Thank you so much for such a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and that you enjoyed using the Aga for cooking. It will be lovely to see you both again when hopefully the garden will be showing off all its glory.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbon...
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It was only a short trip from home, but it is so tranquil you could spend days just watching the birds in the garden, great photography opportunities, definitely be visiting again soon, the hosts are lovely and happy to help in anyway they can
Thanks for making our anniversary spectacular

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2018
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lane End Cottage, we look forward to seeing you again. We are thrilled to think that you wanted to spend your anniversary at the cottage and that you feel we made you welcome.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curiosity...
1 review
“beautiful cottage and area”
Reviewed December 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This is a lovely cottage, much bigger than expected but still with a cosy feel. The owners were very welcoming and helpful.
The surrounding area is beautiful, with lots of things to do even in the winter.
Thank you very much, Angela and Steve.
Chalon & Andy

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so please you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again some day and hope you are having a lovely Christmas.

Angela and steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Audre...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely warm comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great holiday again. We were welcomed by Angela and Steve who made sure
we had everything we needed. We enjoyed the woodburning stove in the evenings,
wood provided. Again we enjoyed watching the birds feeding in the garden. A
great place to relax after enjoying some of the many places to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you so much for another great review. It was lovely to see you both again, we are glad that you enjoyed visiting all the local points of interest.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was great seeing you both again and we hope it will not be the last time. Take care.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing