We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cottage with beautiful garden to relax and...”
other travelers have booked this property
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016) Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016)
Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Wander around the garden  and find all the different colours that greet you at every corner.
Spring has arrived at Lane End Cottage.
An abundance of birds await you if you feed them.
You might even see the great spotted woodpecker.
You  may also be lucky enough to see the family of deer in the field beside the cottage.
April 2016 - new alpine and bird bath area.
A new surprise at every turn! Look out for the chickens!
Spring has arrived in the garden.
Looking out into the garden through the new patio doors while having dinner.
Eating dinner, looking out into the garden.
Settle in for the night with a tasty fire in the log burner.
Spend a quiet evening reading your favourite book, or choose from the library.
Plenty of storage for your belongings.
Wake up to the morning sunshine and the sound of the birds in the garden.
Our brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Relax in the conservatory, drinking tea, coffee or wine watching the birds.
Brand new Rayburn installed November 2015
Fall asleep in the sunshine while enjoying the conservatory!
The log burner will keep you warm on cold nights.
You could get distracted when washing the dishes and be lucky to see deer.
Christmas was a lovely celebration of all things local - tree, trimmings etc.
The chickens will come and great you!
Sit outside and enjoy an afternoon cream tea.
Spend time counting the fish.
Wander around the cottage garden.
Quintessential Devon countryside we are in an AONB. View driving to cottage.
Your view from the garden.
Quiet lane to the cottage.
Climb the famous Jacob's Ladder at Sidmouth.
Visit Lyme Regis, part of the Jurrasic Coastline, maybe you will be lucky to find a fossil.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jill338
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage with beautiful garden to relax and unwind”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

After a long and tiring journey from the north of England we were met by the owners, Angela and Steve, who gave us a really warm welcome to Lane End Cottage. The bottle of red wine they left us was greatly appreciated ! The cottage was lovely and warm, and Steve had very kindly prepared a fire in the wood burning stove.
The cottage is very spacious and tastefully decorated. We particularly liked the almost circular layout of downstairs rooms : from the kitchen you could go into the dining area overlooking the beautiful garden, the dining area then leads into an adjacent conservatory which in turn leads into the living room, and back again to the kitchen ! Sitting in the conservatory watching the birds feeding was a real treat and a perfect place to relax and unwind. There is also a library with a range of interesting books to read.
The kitchen is particularly spacious with a view from the sink area overlooking the front garden area.
There are local walks right outside the cottage. The darkness at night was wonderful and on 3 9f the nights there were clear night skies - for anyone interested in astronomy or just Starr gazing it was a perfect location,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Land End Cottage and look forward to returning again
Jill & Julian
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the cottage and beautiful garden
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very thrilled to think that you were able to relax and unwind after your horrendous journey to get here. There have been some more clear nights and the owls have been out as well this week. We look forward to seeing you again. Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannekeja...
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful holiday at Lane End cottage. The owners Angela and Steve were wonderfully warm and welcoming, and the cottage provided for all our needs. It's location allowed us to explore the beauty of Devon and enjoying the relaxing rural settings. For us it is the most perfect cottage.
Good footpaths for country walking were all around.
The wood burning stove welcomed us. Wood was provided by Steve as much as we liked. The cottage is so well equipped, so cosy, so clean. After a day walking and visiting beaches and beautiful seaside towns it was a joy to return to the warm and cosy cottage, so it suits summer or winter visitors, The outside facing kitchen and seating area with views over the garden is lovely. We have seen a lot of different birds in the garden and even a squirrel visited us.
The Wifi works perfectly!
Always a trip to remember, hope to come back! Thank you so much Angela and Steve for a lovely and peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing.... stay was too short
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you so much for an amazing review. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and learning more about your country. You have visited places in Devon we haven't even been to!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of property
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
Thank you so much for lovely review, and we will make sure that there is a small lidded saucepan, thanks for letting us know. Also glad your forgotten item got back to you so quickly. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: cant think of anything we did not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, it was lovely to meet you both and we were honored that you would choose the cottage to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again for your 2nd Anniversary.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Holiday Rental”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely cottage,very peaceful,immaculate interior.Loved watching the birds in the garden.
Have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & tranquility.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much for the review. It was great meeting you both and hopefully next time you will have some clear nights to witness the amazing sky filled with stars. See you next year.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackPacke...
1 review
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful little cottage, well equipped, warm and comfortable.
The garden is beautiful and well kept.
We loved our short visit here, and would return with no hesitation at all, any time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: No negatives at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, it was a real pleasure to meet you both we haven't laughed so much in ages!!! We look forward to seeing you again.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T2241UNpe...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“'BLISSFUL'”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This little cottage brought to mind,
The life we'd lost and left behind,
With busy lives, so much to do,
We'd lost ourselves, but never knew,

The calm, serene and blissful days,
Have brought us back to our true ways,
The birds, the bees, the chickens too,
The trees, the flowers, the sky so blue,
The peace, the quiet, behind that gate,
Is Lane End Cottage,
'HEAVEN ON A PLATE'.

Barbara and Peter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wole experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely poem, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Sorry the drive home was so horrendous.
Take care good luck with the new website.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing