We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Conundrum”
other travelers have booked this property
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016) Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
A mass of flowers greet you on arrival at the cottage.
New doors let in so much more light. (April 2016)
Enjoy sitting outside and watching the many birds that arrive on the bird feeders.
Wander around the garden  and find all the different colours that greet you at every corner.
Spring has arrived at Lane End Cottage.
An abundance of birds await you if you feed them.
You might even see the great spotted woodpecker.
You  may also be lucky enough to see the family of deer in the field beside the cottage.
April 2016 - new alpine and bird bath area.
A new surprise at every turn! Look out for the chickens!
Spring has arrived in the garden.
Looking out into the garden through the new patio doors while having dinner.
Eating dinner, looking out into the garden.
Settle in for the night with a tasty fire in the log burner.
Spend a quiet evening reading your favourite book, or choose from the library.
Plenty of storage for your belongings.
Wake up to the morning sunshine and the sound of the birds in the garden.
Our brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Brand new bathroom installed this week (8.8.16)
Relax in the conservatory, drinking tea, coffee or wine watching the birds.
Brand new Rayburn installed November 2015
Fall asleep in the sunshine while enjoying the conservatory!
The log burner will keep you warm on cold nights.
You could get distracted when washing the dishes and be lucky to see deer.
Christmas was a lovely celebration of all things local - tree, trimmings etc.
The chickens will come and great you!
Sit outside and enjoy an afternoon cream tea.
Spend time counting the fish.
Wander around the cottage garden.
Quintessential Devon countryside we are in an AONB. View driving to cottage.
Your view from the garden.
Quiet lane to the cottage.
Climb the famous Jacob's Ladder at Sidmouth.
Visit Lyme Regis, part of the Jurrasic Coastline, maybe you will be lucky to find a fossil.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carnevale
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our Conundrum”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We didn't really want to write this review but owe it to Angela and Steve to do so. The problem is this cottage is so idyllic that we want to keep it for ourselves, but that would not be very helpful to our very special hosts. The cottage itself is very private and set in wonderful surroundings with every conceivable facility. Angela and Steve could not be more welcoming and mindful of our comfort and enjoyment. The cottage is much larger than might be imagined from having only one bedroom. The conservatory is a real bonus for relaxing with a superb view of part of the garden and the local wild life. Try the "Royal Oak" tea rooms and farm shop nearby - you certainly won't be disappointed and lively Honiton is only five miles away. We cannot wait for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing whatsoever to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you so much, yes it is definitely a conundrum!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you will be impressed with the new bathroom when you come back in October. We really enjoyed your company, and our long chats with wine of course!!! See you soon. Angela and Steve x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage & being made welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, we are really glad that you are enjoying your stay at the cottage. We hope you will visit us again.

Angela & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you so much for the amazing review, as we mentioned we are still fairly new to this, and it was a pleasure to hear that we made your stay so enjoyable. We really look forward to seeing you again.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew M
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely tranquil beautifully gardened cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Tina and I love this place. She painted the garden while I wrote about dreams and contentment. We will revisit Lane End Cottage annually, and although only a month away, I miss it already.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you so much, it was such a pleasure meeting you and Tina. We are so happy that you have felt the magic of the cottage as much as us. We really look forward to seeing you again soon. We feel like we have gained life long friends in yourself and Tina.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you so much, it was wonderful to meet you both, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the homeopathic cough medicine recipe, I made it up and it has done wonders for our daughter, Tara. We really hope that we will have the chance to meet you again. Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paibt
1 review
“Amazing garden and comfy cottage”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The garden is full of flowers and shrubs and therefore bees and birds in abundance. It is so peaceful! Can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thank you so much it has been a pleasure seeing you once more and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer. We are so pleased that the cottage has lived up to your expectations.
Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I sat in the conservatory watching a woodpecker, nuthatches and robin at the bird feeder and the local chickens scratching about in the wintry garden and decided this is a little piece of heaven. The cottage is beautiful inside and out; so comfortable and welcoming I didn't want to leave, but drove down to Lyme Regis for a walk on the beach and into Honiton for a coffee and supplies.
I'm going back in April when the garden will be delightful and again for a week in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Next time you come the cherry should be in bloom.

Angela and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing