We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house!”
other travelers have booked this property
Underbow Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Underbow Kitchen
Kitchen Range Cooker
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Underbow Kitchen
Kitchen
Range Cooker
Another Kitchen image!
Sitting room with best Woodburner, you will be too hot!
Sitting Room
Top Floor King bed with wall mounted TV
Another image of top floor
Dressing area
En-suite to top floor
Large twin room
Twin room also en-suite
Master Bedroom en-suite
Master bedroom en-suite
Master Bedroom with wall mounted TV
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Underbow, private parking just at the front down private lane
Underbow's Garden with Moor views and South facing
Dartmoor
Bogey Castle just down the road, for high tea
Moretonhampstead
Moretonhampstead
Moretonhampstead from Mardon Down
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kaisa M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house!”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked Underbow cottage for our family trip. We had 6 nights holiday in Devon on April and we looked for the perfect house for a long time from different rental pages until we found Underbow Cottage. It had everything we needed, 3 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, good location and it looked so British as it can look! We came from Finland.

House was much better than in pictures! At the first morning when I was brushing my teeth at the 3th floor bathroom and looked at the moors, I was thinking that I could wake up in this house every morning for the rest of my life! Living room was spacious ans cozy, kitchen had everything we needed. Beds were superb! Situation in the center of the quiet Moretonhampstead was great, only 1 minute walk to Co-op and short ride to the moors. Moretonhampstead had also a couple of pubs to choose from. Everything is so small and cute!

Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bzads
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for a family visit. ”
Reviewed December 25, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My family consisting of six adults and a few four legged friends stayed in this beautiful cottage recently. The location boasts scenic village life with little home comforts. A couple of shops including a Co-Op, a butchers, some drinking holes and cafes. Not so remote you are isolated, but tucked away if you wish to be so.
The cottage is off of the main road via a private driveway. Parking for three cars is available, additional parking available via a small pay and display car park close by. Free out of season.
The cottage is spacious and homely, beautiful decorated with high end fixtures and fittings.
The log burner adds to the cosiness, even though the weather was poor, we had plenty to do inside . Games cupboard with a variety of board games. Books for all ages. They have really catered for all eventualities.
Dogs were welcomed as long as they brought respectful owners.
The beds were really comfy as one of the older guests commented. The three rooms have en-suit and are private so different couples or families could share the cottage. My children are three and four, we test drove the cottage and there were no worrying areas, a little enclosed garden, would make a great BBQ area, with somewhere for the children to play.
Can't wait to try this out in the summer months.
Located in an ideal position on Dartmoor, for exploring yet close enough to local towns and the coast for a great variety of adventures.
This really does boast it all. Well done Underbow Cottage, we will see you soon when the family return in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2015
Thanks so much for bothering to write this Zoe-much appreciated. Kim xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimbostoo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a charming cottage! Well appointed and nicely decorated. An upmarket experience. Very centrally located, a 5min walk to the town centre. The Coop open until late and delightful shops (grocer, tea room and news agent). The cream teas at the local gastropub are worth a visit. The house comfortably sleeps 6, each room pleasant, with own bathroom. The attic room has lovely views over the moors. Highly recommend this house and the village of Moretonhampstead.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I felt very comfortable in the house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolk343
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, spacey and modern”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A excellent holiday cottage, with ample room for 2 dogs and 6 people. Sun trap of a garden out the back and the luxury of 3 en suite bedrooms (with power showers) and plenty of room to move around. Idyllic location, close to shops, pubs and access to Dartmoor and the Devon coasts. Easy to find and the added bonus of being in a secluded part of the village- like no one else is there. Fully equipped, ample parking and friendly locals. We had an excellent time, great dog walking and cake eating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davicus
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Family Cottage for Exploring the Moors”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Exceptional cottage with high quality fixtures & fittings and friendly & efficient agent. It is set on 3 levels, all bathrooms en suite (one bath, two showers). The style is a clean country look, large sofas, wood burner, simple elegant decorations. The garden is on the first floor (house is set into an incline). A large gas oven/cooker makes preparing large meals a pleasure. Although TVs are in every room, they are discreet. Would recommend for families looking for quiet/upmarket experience. Not suitable for persons with mobility issues as stairs are steep and narrow

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent quality of beds/linen/fixtures
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing