We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Hart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
$490
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
$61
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa(Ilsington)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
236
66
11
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
66
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parklovely hotelvenisonthe main hotelan evening mealcountry hoteldining roomdown the roadfew drinkscream teasandwichcomfortable loungepublic roomsovernight staybooked a tablecosy barfood is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 320 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very well managed hotel, two ladies run a very friendly and helpful team. The bar is warm and welcoming with three good draught ales. The food is excellent and good value, the bedrooms are a good size, well fitted and furnished and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've eaten here a couple of times and decided to stay en route to Cornwall. We were not disappointed. Very welcoming staff and attractive reception/sitting area. Our room wasn't huge but nice and cosy. Very clean and nice touches like chocolates on the pillow. Our meal was really good and great just to tumble upstairs to bed. Breakfast good too. Despite being on the road it was quiet at night in our room. We woulkd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyWatlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel – we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. I was with a group of eight walkers who stayed for three nights as we have done several times in the past. It is better and more efficiently run than ever. Nothing is too much trouble for Karen, the General Manager, Pippa and the rest of the staff. The accommodation is excellent by 3 star standards and it is hard to find fault with anything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, positive feedback is always appreciated by the team and we really value our customers' comments. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got here because we needed a place to stay en route to exploring Dartmoor. The lovely little Moretonehampstead fits this purpose.

If you are travellers who are happy with a place to put your head down and have a hot shower, friendly welcome, decent breakfast and even a decent dinner ( pub style ) this place is fine.

However, beware that the rooms in th Mews annex are bare and basic, and that the noise from the street is significant. Apparently those in the main building over the bar are also very noisy.

If you are seeking for something more upmarket, and, like us, prefer beautiful, comfortable, authentic, clean and very classy - you'd be disappointed.
In other words, it is a 2-3 star place. At that, a very pleasant one. But it won't receive 4 stars in our book.
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Karen. Dinner was very nice, and pub very pleasant.

Room Tip: Away from the street and the bar.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capetonian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. As your booking was last minute (on the morning of your arrival), our assistant manager informed you that we only had two rooms available, one over the bar area and one in the Mews Annex. Neither room was ideal for you, as you’d indicated you were a light sleeper, but you nevertheless accepted the quieter of the two in The Mews, as you really needed accommodation for the night – even though the room was a smaller ‘standard’ room.

We are indeed a 3-star country hotel. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations, should you return to our village, we would love to accommodate you in one of our more luxurious rooms.

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the aspects of our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stumbled across this beautiful village and hotel on the way through Dartmoor, (such a great find) the rooms were immaculate, brilliant food and exceptional hosts, already planning the trip back. Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: try stay in the main hotel 'the Mews' rooms are great though get terribly hot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you liked the Hotel, Moretonhampstead and Dartmoor in equal measure!

We have adjusted the heating down but, as I am sure you can understand, one man's 'terribly hot' is another man's 'comfortable', but we will always do our best to adjust things. All we ask is that guests talk to us while they are here and let us know if there is anything they would like us to look at, and then we have a chance to see how we can help and make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews