We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A lovely hotel to stay in, great staff and the best place we've stayed for the price. We would be very happy to return. We stayed for 2 nights and received friendly and professional service in a very attractive and comfortable hotel. The food in the bar and restaurant was delicious, as was the breakfast. It is well positioned for exploring the National Park and we found many interesting walks and places to visit. Thank you to all the staff for making our short trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask the staff which would suit your requirements, they will be happy to guide you. some rooms are ab...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I managed to get through on the phone on what was probably one of the busiest nights (Moretonhampstead Carnival) and I was asked to send an email to secure a room just one night before my stay. I arrived very exhausted after a 9 hours drive hoping the booking was valid - I was being expected ( thank you, Pippa), my spotless newly refurbished room was ready for me and I had what was easily the best Tuna Niçoise salad ever. The hotel was very busy with wedding guests on the last Bank Holiday weekend of the summer yet staff were always friendly and efficient, great atmosphere, lovely rooms and really delicious food - I would normally try different places to eat in when visiting new destinations but I could not help myself but coming back for every meal! I've stayed in some really nice places in Torquay and Totness last year but The White Hart beats them all! Definitely coming back with my well travelled spoilt husband confident he will love your hotel!
M.F.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marketa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. You visited us at what is probably the busiest time of the year and we are delighted to hear that we got everything right for you and that you enjoyed your stay. Staff really appreciate positive feedback from guests – thank you. Come and see us again soon... perhaps out of season when everything will be a little more mellow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can I say apart from thanks to Karen and her amazing team at The White Hart for a fabulous stay at probably the most well run, hospitable and relaxing hotel I think we have ever stayed in. We arrived early and were quickly booked in. We decided to have dinner at the hotel which in all honesty was FAB! The food is of the highest quality, lots of it too. The service by staff was just right, not intrusive and always aiming to ensure that we felt happy, comfortable and most importantly relaxed. The hotel isn't stuffy and gets everything right in our book. The staff are exceptionally well trained and were always happy to help.

I am going to mention the Manager of the hotel, Karen. You may have read the 'Fishermen's Tale' review below. We were having after dinner drinks in the lounge and couldn't help hear what unfolded. To cut a long story short, two fishermen went out in the morning, and only one came back at about 9.30pm. He was obviously quite concerned about the whereabouts of his friend. Well, Karen swung into action, immediately ringing the pub where the fishermen were supposed to meet, calling the River fisheries owner, Police and Rangers ready for a search of the area. It was the end of her long shift and she arranged for her Chef (with a Land Rover) to go out with the returned fishermen to check where his friends car was. Fortunately, noone was missing in the end, but Karen and her contacts went out of the way to ensure that all matters ended happily for their guests. If I am ever in any trouble, I know who I would call!!!

The downstairs area of the hotel has obviously been refurbished and looked and felt really warm and cozy. I would love to visit in the Winter with a roaring fire. Our bedroom was large and had everything you would need. It is an old building, so expect a few squeaky floorboards. The bathroom, particularly the wood surrounds have had some water ingress so need freshening up and the bed was a bit too soft for me- but these are the ONLY things I can think about to be critical about. I'm guessing the hotel will be looking to continue the theme of the refurb upstairs?

All in all, if you are looknig for a welcoming hotel in Dartmoor as a base for any activities in the area, then look no further than The White Hart Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 2 was large and had a lovely view over to countryside.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrisbueller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel – we do appreciate and listen to feedback from our guests. Staff here work hard to try and ensure guests enjoy their stay and we go our of our way to be of assistance – your case was slightly more demanding than usual, but it all turned out well in the end! Thank you for your positive comments on our food and service and we hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Used the hotel as a base from which to do some fly fishing in the Dartmoor national park rivers. I arrived on Sunday and left on Wednesday (3 night stay). I think this one of the nicest places of it kind that I have ever stayed in. The staff were very smiley and we seemed to connect with them a friendly social level that allowed some cheeky banter and amusing exchanges. The food and more importantly the beer were excellent. If I am in the area again I will not hesitate to stay there again.............. even the "almost having to call out the Dartmoor search and rescue team" did not spoil our visit. Thank you
ps marked you down for the sleep because I found the bed too soft, my personal preference being a harder bed but most people would love it especially in the cooler months where I would imagine it would be a very cosy place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel - and for giving us such a glowing report! The White Hart is an excellent base from which to explore Dartmoor and fish its rivers, it is a beautiful area. We like to think we provide a good mix of food, drink and banter and are delighted that you appreciated all three! Thank you also for your feedback on your bed – almost all our guests remark on how comfortable they find them, so we are sorry that it wasn't quite right for you. Do come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

best hotel we ever been to at the price. situated in a beautifull town with an historic church dating back to about 1296. the staff are very friendy and helpfull. the restaraunt and bar eating areas are excellent. the hotel is dog friendly, which was very important to us as we had our little dog with us.all in all, if we were in that area again, it would be a must stay over

Room Tip: ask for room 6....fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank putmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Moretonhampstead is a historic moorland town and a great base from which to explore Dartmoor. We are indeed a dog friendly hotel! As so many people come to this area to enjoy the miles and miles of wonderful walks with their four-legged companions, we find we are very popular venue! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here with our youngest son. Had a great time. Very friendly hotel, the staff really have put a lot of effort in to make the rooms as comfortable as possible. We booked very last minute and stayed at The Mews across the road which is very pleasant and quiet, very clean and with attractive decor in excellent condition.

The hub enjoyed the local beer very much and the food in the bar was delicious. It's hard to holiday with special food requirements, but the chef was very happy to oblige when I asked for vegetables and breakfast items to be cooked fat free.

After a long day out walking, in an ideal world, we would have liked a bath to soak away the aches and pains. I understand from the hotel brochure that most rooms do have these and we did book last minute and forgot to request one in our haste so were just unlucky. Having said that, the shower was excellent and very powerful! Nice glass shower unit rather than horrible clammy curtain you find in many places :)

Just a minor point - we found the front door to the Mews did not self lock and other guests staying in the building often did not realise this and left it unlocked. However, the internal rooms do all have lockable doors.

The lack of car park is absolutely no issue at all. It is free between 6pm and 9am and all day on Sunday. It is only 50 yards down the road, no further away than many hotel car parks we have used before...and even closer to The Mews building. If you don't plan to be out before 9am, you just need to put £1 on the car before 9am and that is enough for a further 3 hours.

Local facilities are great with a small co-op and pharmacy close by. Great base for exploring Dartmoor.

All in all thank you for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof4explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review! We do go the extra mile whenever we can and our chef and his team are always very accommodating. We do have lots of rooms with baths, but it is always best to mention this when booking. Do come and stay with us again – and next time we'll ensure you get a bath!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for just a single night but could not recommend it highly enough. Friendly staff, very well kept, tidy hotel and spotless room. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was brilliant with cereals and cooked breakfast options. The night before we had had a lovely meal with some very nice local beer. Amazing for visit Dartmoor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick0051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and were also impressed with the local area – it is rather special. Our chef has introduced a few more vegetarian dishes in his latest menu and these are proving extremely popular with vegetarians and meat eaters alike! Do come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
500 reviews
11.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,072 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range: $106 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing