We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, stylish rooms and great food in the heart of Dartmoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Claines, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, stylish rooms and great food in the heart of Dartmoor”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The friendliest welcome we've ever received in a hotel! Brought our two little dogs who were also welcomed! The hotel is in a lovely little town which is perfect for visiting Dartmoor and further afield. We had a wonderful walk around Reservoir, with lunch in Chagford.

We ate in the hotel two nights running and the food was delicious. The roasted beet root with goats cheese was divine!

Our room was very spacious with room enough for a sofa and a desk and the bed was very comfortable. There's no car park but it was no trouble as there is a public car park 50m down the road which only cost £3 for 24hrs.

The public rooms are also comfortable and tastefully decorated. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really value our guests' feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    60
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
56
129
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we arrived at the hotel and immediately you were made feel welcome.Our room was superb.Bed so comfortable We stayed in room 5 Spacious a fab en-suit only problem was the shelf in the en-suit was slanted and i put a glass on it and it slid off small problem.Food in the dining room fantastic especially the homemade bread.Breakfast very good I asked about the bread I had the previous evening and the chef made me a small loaf how fantastic was that Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will investigate the sloping shelf in your bathroom! Our chef and his team are always happy to give customers what they want and we're delighted they pulled all the stops out for you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were all made to feel most welcome- myself my husband and our little dog Poppy. Had good communication with the hotel before arrival and received the same good manners whilst we were there. We had dinner in the restaurant which was absolutely divine! The room was well laid out and full of character! Even with a power cut! It was quickly sorted! Would stay here again and we are already recommending this place to friends and family! Thanks guys for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolligeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very generous review. We're really pleased you, your husband and Poppy enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went to the White Hart last Friday. We had a couple of drinks in the bar which was quiet and welcoming, there is also an outdoor patio area. We ate in the restaurant, the food was great and all staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadIccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're pleased you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to Dartmoor and headed for Two Bridges, really hoping to eat, but alas there was literally no room at the inn. So we headed back to Exeter via Moretonhampstead, and stumbled across The White Hart, quite by chance.

We realised as soon as we saw the exterior and rear courtyard, that we were entering a very inviting and excellent environment. We had a very delicious meal, with good service. Having read the reviews, I would have no hesitation in coming back to stay in future.

Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review - we do appreciate it - and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Right from the check-in, the room, the staff, the bar (hilaaaaarious), bar food, beer, even the wi-fi (which worked perfectly for us), this was a lovely stay.

Everything was new and shiny, the bed was very comfortable and the only reason our sleep was disturbed was because the weather was so bloody summery.

Special mention should be made of the breakfast: the sausage and black pudding from Michael Howard around the corner was top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and for giving us such a glowing write up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the White Hart as part of our LEJOG and what a welcome diversion from the grind of hills in Devon & Cornwall it was. Obviously well used to dealing with cyclists by the way our bikes were stored securely for the night with the minimum of fuss. The room was excellent, plenty of space and an impressive en-suite. The breakfast was wonderful with nothing too much trouble and cooked to order. I has chatted with one of the members of staff who was working the bar/reception and she gave me the history of the place which was very enlightening.
Overall a memorable place to stay and thoroughly recommended for all, not just cycling parties. Will definitely look to stay here again if visiting this part of the world again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3PeterG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Well, what can we say? What a wonderful review, thank you! We are becoming popular with people such as yourselves tackling the Lands End to John O'Groats cycle ride and we're delighted that we proved such a great stop over for you and your bicycles. We hope you completed your epic trip safely and hope to see you again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
504 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,300 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
491 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
11.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing