We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day lunch - absolutely wonderful from beginning to end!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We've had a wonderful time at the White Hart today, the food was excellent, my vegetarian option main of beetroot tortellini was a great change from some rather unimaginative mains I've had in other places, there were six in our party and all were very impresssed, the service was perfect, all staff helpful and friendly. From the greeting as you walked in the door when your coat was taken and a glass of bubbles or orange juice to your preference was offered, to the mince pie with the coffee at the end, we couldn't have faulted anything. And the cost was only £47.50 per head!

The White Hart is definitely on the up, get there if you can!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank maryandjohnbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed with friends at White Hart, we had the whole wing which was brilliant. Service was excellent, staff attentive. Looks like they are very well trained. Main hotel is excellent as well. I suggest that if you are a group looking for a place to your self then Mews is the best. You are just a minute away from hotel and you can have the whole place for yourself.
Check with reception for ideas to do things around the place.
Chef and his team is excellent, Pippa and team at reception was very helpful, a big thanks to Karen, GM who inquired about our stay and runs a very good team.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in Mews if you are in a group, or stay in the main hotel if on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benaresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel over the weekend, after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, as a surprise for my partner. And we had a great time, the room (Room 2) was great, the food wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend it to anyone, and will hopefully return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennisaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have just returned from an excellent Christmas dinner at the White Hart. From the moment we arrived the service was 150% excellent - the greeting we received, the pre dinner drinks and the introduction to the dining room. Our meal was beautifully served and presented and the ambiance in the dining room could not be faulted. The little touches of superb Christmas crackers , beautiful christmas hats and the christmas decorations made for a very enjoyable evening. The food was superb and the evening was a total delight. Thank you Nancy and all the staff for such a lovely evening and thank you Karen for managing the hotel so well. If you havent booked for a christmas treat I recommend you do so right away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prewelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked one night away for me and my boyfriend on December 1st. We had both never visited Moretonhampstead before so didn't know what to expect but it was just perfect for the relaxing getaway that we wanted. It is set in a quiet village surrounded by beautiful dartmoor countryside. Our room (number 2) was large and quiet with a really big comfy bed. The evening meal (which was included in the price) was fantastic, the staff were really friendly and welcoming, the reception, restaurant and pub areas were cosy and nicely decorated, breakfast was great. Really can't fault it and will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophiegarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a night to break our journey from the Midlands to Cornwall with our two year old. After trying several places, we happened upon the White Hart. It could not have have been better. It was our honeymoon so we wanted a place where my wife and I could have a nice meal while our daughter slept - the night we were arriving was a special fish night so we booked in for that. However, our daughter wasn't really going down well that week so we rang to cancel this as it started at a set time and we couldn't guarantee we could make it - this was last minute but no problem for the hotel. When we got there, because we thought the kitchen would be preoccupied with the fish dinner, we were expecting just a sandwich to be available for tea but no - the full bar menu was available as long as we ordered by 6.30 - food was great - best beef pie I had had for a long time. As for the room, absolutely great - lovely bathroom, comfy bed, travel cot, nice sofa - the staff were great and couldn't do enough. Breakfast was smashing. The hotel itself is simply and comfortably decorated with a lovely large lounge and a cosy bar. We will be returning. One problem though but it's not the hotel's fault - parking is poor so be prepared to pull up in the narrow street it is on and unpack quickly and go and park somewhere else in the town. A great start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The White Hart has been extensively modernised, and the accommodation is very good,and the lounge, bar and restaurant really very well decorated and furnished, and the staff are friendly. The breakfast chef is outstanding, and dinners/bar food very good, (and the game pies are not be missed). Our bedroom was warm, well-equipped, and we really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Excellent location for exploring Dartmoor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
528 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moretonhampste...
Price Range: $102 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing