We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have leisurely lunch midweek.”

White Hart Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2014

On the way to the moors.
Dropped into lunch.
Leisurely pint in the lounge whilst meal being cooked.
We both had the steak and beer pie and shared a beautiful cheese platter.

Attentive service, a proper pie, not one of those concoctions in a small dish!

However there were only a few nice pieces of steak in the pie, but lovely gravy.

Overall, for a pub / hotellunch it was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Our home made pies are indeed 'proper' with full pastry cases. We are sorry if you felt you were a bit short on steak, this is not a comment we have had before, but our chef has been made aware of it. Do come and dine with us again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had dinner here twice when on holiday in Moretonhampstead and apart from a bit of a mean portion on my partners venison starter would still recommend as all the other courses were very good. Happy, efficient staff made for two very nice evenings. We also had the take away fish & chips on our last evening and the portions were huge and again very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Portion size is always difficult - as your review demonstrates, you felt the starter was 'mean', but that the fish and chips were huge! We do listen to customer feedback and our chef has taken on board your view on the venison starter. We hope you will come and dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had two wonderful meals here. Beef burgundy was delicious. The wait staff was attentive and friendly.

Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Many thanks for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. The beef bourguignon is one of our most popular dishes, alongside our home made pie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Met a friend here for lunch.
I had pre booked a table, a few days prior.
Upon arrival, we were seated in the ante room, and were given menus to view. After a short while our lunch order was taken, and when the food was ready we were shown to our table. I'm glad I had booked, as the restaurant was quite busy.
We both had their pre set menu, mushroom starters, I had roast beef, friend had turkey pie, and we both had lemon tart to finish, plus tea and coffee.
The restaurant and service was excellent, the building was clean and tidy, and we were made to feel very welcome. I will definitely return here, thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cgr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful olde hotel, lovely helpful staff. Only downside no parking, but a public car park, just round the corner. Food is always excellent lunch and dinner. We make a point of detouring just so we can visit.

Thank jemima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at White Hart Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant and for your kind words. Sadly, there is nothing we can do about car parking, as the Hotel is a very old building at the heart of an old moorland town, but the walk from the car park is only about 50 yards. Do keep on detouring - and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to White Hart Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing