We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gateway to dartmoor and dog friendly too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The LongHouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moretonhampstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The LongHouse B&B
South Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great gateway to dartmoor and dog friendly too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The other reviews mention the size of the rooms which are indeed very small however the comfort, cleanliness and friendliness here makes up for lack of space. We stayed for 3 nights with our dog and were made to feel very welcome. Great walking from the doorstep and the owners are a lovely couple. The union pub over the road is cheap and cheerful. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrold
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Long House. Peter and Lorely were really friendly and I enjoyed chatting with them each morning. Breakfast was delicious, and nothing was too much trouble. The building is steeped in history and in the centre of Moretonhampstead, ideally placed for exploring the area. I will definitely return, the next time I find myself in that part of the world :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Atherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really enjoyed this place - comfortable and cozy, great breakfast, good price, friendly owners. A fantastic location for exploring Dartmoor - the owners kindly advised us on walks and lent us maps. Couldn't ask for more.

Two minor quibbles - there's no parking, though public parking is just around the corner. So you might have to carry your suitcase a few hundred yards. Our bedroom (the non-ensuite double) was also somewhat cramped - it would have been the perfect size for a single.

Very peaceful and quiet sleep, and nice breakfast!

Room Tip: If there's two of you and you like space, you might want to avoid the double bedroom with the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheManTheLegendThePi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

A small B&B with great hospitality c/o Peter and Lorely. The building dates back to 1500?, breakfast was great, the accommodations were very clean with a (small) ensuite bathroom etc. They also have a great collection of local history books and tour guides for Moretonhampstead and surrounding Dartmoor

Best thing is that it really authentic ... like stepping back in history. Definitely would recommend the Union house across the road for good pub food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 2 blustery nights at the Longhouse and had no complaints with the accomodation. Whilst our room (the en-suite) was certainly a little on the compact side this added to the charm of the place and actually served as an incentive to get out and about exploring the area - the lack of a tv in the room served the same purpose!

As stated elsewhere, there is no parking at the B&B which is a mild inconvenience and we did find ourselves having to get out of bed early to get a ticket for the public car park one morning so be aware this may scupper any plans for a lie-in! There is on-street parking in the village but it is all 1 hour maximum.

Breakfast is a triumph with some of the best bacon I think I have ever tasted. Peter does a grand job of maitre d' whilst Lorely serves up the magic behind the scenes. A good, hearty breakfast sets you up nicely for a day on the Moor but we had mixed fortunes when it came to eating in the village pubs in the evening. The Union (directly opposite The Longhouse) provided us with some no-nonsence, no-frills pub-grub, the home-made pie was particularly good. However, we were left in the lurch slightly on our second night as the remaining two eateries were fully booked and seemed to offer little prospect of getting anything to eat after 9pm. We resorted to getting back in the car and finding a curry house over in Bovey Tracey which was fine but not really what either of us really wanted! If you want to stay local - book a table!

All in all, an enjoyable stay at The Longhouse. This isn't 5* luxury boutique-style accomodation but it's honest, clean and friendly and served as an ideal base to explore this part of Devon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryKuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at The Longhouse. Peter and Lorely are the epitome of friendliness. Both were very helpful about the area, Peter and I had some great conversations, and Lorely makes the best eggs in England! The location is excellent as it is just across the street from the best pub in the area- the Union Inn. Thanks Peter and Lorely

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huenstetten
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed 6 nights at that wonderful place and it won´t be the last time. As I arrived and saw the 2 houses and the tunnel between them I thought: " Oh no, why did you book that b & b." But then I saw the garden and the house and as I met Lorely & Peter I knew that I will have a wonderful holiday. They are very welcoming, always helpful, witty and interesting. My room was cosy and had a wonderful view into the garden.
My tipp: To get your brain moving in the morning, look onto the window sill in the breakfast room and try to find anagrams of Moretonhampstead ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Easton Court
Easton Court
#8 of 15 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Post House
The Old Post House
#4 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LongHouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LongHouse B&B

Property: The LongHouse B&B
Address: 21 Ford Street, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LongHouse is our secluded 15th-century home with a lovely walled garden set in the heart of the bustling Dartmoor village of Moretonhampstead. We are within 100 yard stroll of all local amenities and completely free from the noise and inconvenience of motor vehicle traffic. We offer three well-appointed bed & breakfast letting rooms: one en-suite double, plus one double and one twin which share their private bathroom. Double occupancy is from £55-65 per room per night; single occupancy is from £45-50 per room. We also offer a family suite package at a favourable rate. For a modest fee we also accept well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The LongHouse B&B Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing