We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy & Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The LongHouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moretonhampstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The LongHouse B&B
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy & Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed for one night in May 2012 while passing through Dartmoor. Lorely & Peter were very friendly and helpful. The room was cosy, clean and modern. Nice garden too and lots of fun decorations in the house! The only downside was that you have to park at one of two car parks that are a few minutes walk away. Not a bad walk, just worth noting if you have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights in LongHouse. The room was very clean, bed very comfortable, place very calm and owners very friendly and helpful (you feel at once very comfortable with them). The house is probably the oldest in town. It's originality is a plus. The entrance from the street does not reveal what you will find behind it - it's like entering a secret garden (which is by the way very beautiful, you can sit there with your morning coffee). There are 3 "Inn" in the town which serve really good and not expensive food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This quirky b&b is packed away off the main road in what I think is the oldest house in the town. Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, lovely soft beds and towels. Friendly hosts and great breakfast. Peaceful & quiet - best night's sleep in ages! Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Nothing was too much trouble, and good humored patience was exhibited towards an infirm old lady and an excitable dog.

Room Tip: The twin bedded room is on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
0.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LongHouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LongHouse B&B

Property: The LongHouse B&B
Address: 21 Ford Street, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Moretonhampste...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LongHouse is our secluded 15th-century home with a lovely walled garden set in the heart of the bustling Dartmoor village of Moretonhampstead. We are within 100 yard stroll of all local amenities and completely free from the noise and inconvenience of motor vehicle traffic. We offer three well-appointed bed & breakfast letting rooms: one en-suite double, plus one double and one twin which share their private bathroom. Double occupancy is from £60 per room per night; single occupancy is from £50 per room. We also offer a family suite package at a favourable rate. For a modest fee we also accept well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The LongHouse B&B Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing