We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Horse”
Review of The Horse

The Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Italian, Pizza, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Horse”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

gotta love the Horse. great food (obviously, menu is varied and creative), great beer, and reasonably priced. great people - staff and other customers, all contribute to a rich eclectic hub of colour and warmth. congratulations for being so fab

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    63
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem in Moretonhampstead”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The White Horse one of several good local pubs in our local area is a gem. Great food for evening fine dining plus amazing pizza,great classic twists for lunch. Loved the hot salt beef bagel with gherkin and horseradish also the Reuben's!
Great beer and wine kept well.
Thankfully it is also a pub full of eccentricity and character,satire and humour. Respectful service,does get busy during the summer evenings but there is a reason for that....it's great food and atmosphere.
So book if you want dinner and don't take yourself too seriously!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gym9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good value basic food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very good value. Easy to find with a good size car park. Good beer and choice of bar eating area or restaurant. Short waiting time although we eat about 6pm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alan u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal and hospitality at The Horse”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I had heard great things about The Horse (formerly The White Horse) and while travelling through Devon, decided to pay it a visit. We were so pleased we did. The bar area and restaurant are stylish and spacious, the atmosphere friendly (including 'man behind bar'!) and we were shown to our table by super helpful staff. It was tough making a decision from the menu - everything sounded delish - but the food was spectacular from starter to pud.

It was raining the evening we were there, but our elegantly dressed table overlooked a handsome courtyard where I could well imagine sitting on a warm summer's evening. The Saturday night we were there was very busy, but the staff were clearly used to it and coped brilliantly.

I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough, but I'd advise booking to be sure you get a table on busy nights. (have just read previous review and am completely puzzled!!)

Thank you to the chef and staff at The Horse ... we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food .. but unbelievably rude man behind bar !”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Whilst I am reviewing this place as 'Very Good' .. it is for the food and NOT the rude horrible man behind the bar who totally ruined our evening !

The Chef here produces things from his kitchen that are out of this world. My partner & I enjoy good food & have been lucky enough to experience some of the best restaurants, here in the south west, the south east & abroad. We're locals & have eaten at The Horse numerous times, in the winter months it can be as often as once a week ... we have found the food here, in our opinion, to easily give some of the most prestigious eateries a serious run for their money. The waitresses are always friendly, bubbly & efficient. So all this warrants the 'Very Good' ... if not excellent review.

BUT .... & this is a BIG BUT .. I have to be honest & say I've waited a week before writing this review so seething were we at the way we were treated in this place by the grey haired fella behind the bar (why on earth they have that horrible man front of house is beyond comprehension ???!!) ... along with the uncalled for additional rude back hand comment from a newish young waiter ..... ex Ring of Bells waiter, where he was the best waiter at 'turning tables' blah blah blah was his boring ridiculously over self confident inane chatter (we found) on a prior evening ... perleeeeease ... we really were not interested !

In truth, we have always found the grey haired bar man to be very surly & brusque ... he is known by many of our local friends/neighbours as the 'rude one behind the bar' .. but I have to admit, although we find his customer service skills majorly lacking, it has never caused us a problem before. However, on this occasion, we were with my mum out for a special meal .. maybe he'd had a bad day ... but all of us were completely taken aback by his stinking attitude, he spoke so out of turn .. he definitely surpassed himself this time ! Sadly, at the cost of us making the decision to not return to this place again ..

Yes we did bring it to attention of the proprietors ... however they were busy in the kitchen, lady owner did come out and profusely apologise ... asking what she could do for us ... meals on the house ... etc. ... but we'd not come out for a free meal, as nice of her as it was to try and do something ... we'd come out with my mum for a special evening ... and it had been ruined.

We ended up turning and walking out ... and went to The White Hart instead (what a difference .. they could not do enough for us) .... it was thanks to them our evening was saved from being a shocking disaster .. to a good one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank rosie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse also viewed

Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing