We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty decent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moretonhampstead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cookshayes Country Guest House
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“pretty decent”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at Cookshayes recently for a few days. Found the establishment to be a decent find, especially since we were allowed to bring our dog along. The decor was somewhat dated but the room was spacious and the location ideal for access to Dartmoor.
Overall i'd go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this b&b for two nights in August 2012. Yes, it is dated but if you can look past this then you will enjoy your time in this amazing National Park. For the money we paid we cannot complain. Its location is great, just a few miles down the road you enter the park. It's 2 mintues walk from the village centre also. The breakfast was very nice and filling. We did not have any evening food at the b&b. Please do not go expecting 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hblock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The photo on the web site looks pleasant. But beware, close up the place looks past it's best, and in need of some major tlc - externally. Internally we managed to get in the entrance hall before disappointment overcame us. As for the bedroom, it smelt musty, dusty and damp. Decor was old and bland. The toilet/bathroom was, strangely, next door in the hallway and very near the front door. Nice if you like walking around in a towel in full view of the passing public. We did not venture further than the bedroom/hallway, as we went to find alternative accommodation in the town (also reviewed). Finally, we booked a standard double and was given a twin - not impressed. However, I gave this a 2 star rating purely on the grounds that the owner was was true to his word, and refunded our deposit.

Room Tip: If you stay here you may have to look hard for a decent room. It depends on what you are prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamTBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moretonhampstead hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just spent a really pleasant couple of days with Barry & Team on the edge of the moor. Thoroughly welcoming people and delightful surroundings. Decor is not snazzy and up to date but if we wanted boutique would have gone to Bath or London. Food generous and top notch homemade fare. Relaxed and just like home from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We booked a double room for our stay and after two phone calls was asked if we would like Four poster room as it was my birthday i said yes.Imagine our dissapiontment when on arrival was taken to the top floor and opened the door to twin beds i said we had booked a double the owner looked confused and said this was only room available said sorry and left .i decided to move the beds together and on moving bedside cabinet the dust behind so thick had not been cleaned for years , under bed dust and rubbish .As for the shower so hot it burns then so cold you freeze.
So no we wont be back .

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fudge123devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed at Cookshayes for 3 nights. The surroundings are beautiful - a lovely garden but I couldn't take advantage as the weather was poor! When you first enter - seems a little dowdy - but get past this, and you've found treasure! Breakfast is delicious, with whatever combination of English you like (you must try the sausages!) , plus menus for vegetarians. You can also opt to have your evening meal at the B&B - and this is highly recommended. Very generous portions of fresh produce - the taste of local fish is a delight! The B&B is very quiet, and so I had 3 good nights sleep - not always the case when traveling! My only negative - the pillows could have been nicer! - but that really is being picky! The bed was very comfortable. The en-suite facilities were nice and clean - fresh towels each day! I was traveling alone, and was made to feel very welcome - I will go back whenever I can!

Room Tip: 4-poster bed available. Great views at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Just returned from Cookshayes after attending a wedding nearby. On first glance at the property I realised that this was going to be a very basic B&B. The hotel is in dire need of renovating, the decor is shabby and unwelcoming. Our room was located on the ground floor and could have been beautiful, however the double bed was in fact 2 singles pushed together and was very uncomfortable. The room felt and smelt damp, the wallpaper had been hung without matching the pattern, bedside lamp did not work, carpet was dirty and the bedding for the room which contained a single bed also was not matching. The shower room was ample, the shower curtain was mildew in places.
There was a kettle in the room and ample tea/coffee etc with comp biscuits. The hallway was most unwelcoming when you entered the property and this was due to the decor and the well worn carpet. The shelf used for a reception area was cluttered and unprofessional.
Our room key was termperamental and we were told that it worked backwards as it was a back to front lock! The lock had in fact been put in upside down and could have been changed to make life easier, and to allow you to get in to the room quickly instead of playing around to get the key in upside down which didnt come naturally!
The breakfast room was pleasant but again could have done with some cosmetic touches to include new carpet. the breakfast was superb and Tracy was pleasant and attentive.
This was just a flying visit for us, the room rates probably do reflect the standard so for anyone on a budget this would be ideal, we would not go back however the property was in an excellant location, parking was free and the house does have the makings of being a superb B&B if some TLC and money were invested in it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
0.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Post House
The Old Post House
#4 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crossroads Bed and Breakfast
Crossroads Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cookshayes Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cookshayes Country Guest House

Property: Cookshayes Country Guest House
Address: 33 Court Street | Newton Abbot, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Moretonhampste...
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cookshayes Country Guest House Moretonhampstead, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing