We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place”
Review of Easdon Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Easdon Cottage
Ranked #3 of 3 Manaton B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We had a lovely relaxing stay in this beautiful B&B. A gorgeous old cottage with an impressive history, in a very quiet spot. Lovely walk up onto the hills from the cottage. Lovely friendly hosts, fantastic vegetarian food (we had dinner one night as well as breakfast), very comfy, large room and a cosy lounge. Hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

What a warm enthusiastic welcome to Hugh and Lisa's beautiful cottage. We felt at home but cacooned in luxury by the extra little touches, the gorgeous food beautifully presented, and the sensitive service. This was our wedding anniversary, we even received a card! We would recommend without reservation, and hope to return ...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liskeardlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We discovered Easdon cottage in a 'special places to stay' book and we keep going back. Hugh & Liza Dagnell's welcome is so warm and friendly, the bedroom is great, breakfasts perfection. You are their only guests so are made to feel special. They have a very comfortable sitting room they are happy to share with well behaved (!) guests, we've had many a good conversation late into the evening. Only downside I can think of is sometimes it rains! But seriously we've found its usually sunny in that part of Devon (as they are on the sheltered side of the moor) and then its just perfect with stunning scenery, lots of wildlife, village pubs, thatched cottages and the like. Have to mention its wonderfully quiet, cant hear any traffic at all (Easdon is at the end of the road). We like the country walking, which is hard to beat all around there, even popular places like Widecombe and Hay Tor (10mins down the road) are well worth visiting. But the real stunner is the display of bluebells in May time, not to be missed..
They have a self-catering unit ('The Barn') which we;ve never stayed at but looks very comfortable. The cottage overall is a traditional very old farm cottage, feels very original, with interesting and tasteful things all around, like old clocks, paintings etc. Garden is great, and they grow lots of their own veg and fruit. Oh yes the food is all vege and organic but if you are a meateater you wouldnt miss it as the breakfasts are the best we know anywhere. Only point to note is there is no pub in Easdon (which is only a tiny hamlet), but there are a number 10-15 mins drive away which do good food. But the walk to the nearby villages make an enjoyable and easy ramble. We found its location is close enough for easy day trips to the Devon coast, Plymouth, Eden project etc, so plenty to do. Overall highly recommended for a quiet relaxing holiday or short break
(oh I hope the owners dont mind me including a photo of them in their garden, but they are great folks and very much part of the whole experience of staying there, and I like the photo. Keep up the good work you two!) .
.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is our fourth visit to this most wonderful of B&Bs - truly an oasis of calm away from the pressures of everyday life. The proprietors are extremely kind, generous and make your stay very special indeed. The vegetarian food is superb. We are already hoping to book again later in the year to catch the changing seasons. A fantastic find - not to be missed if you like peace, calm and 'getting away from it all'. A truly special place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Have now stayed there twice -- once in the B&B and once in the "Barn", an accommodation which is available for week long stays. The hosts are marvelous, the food (vegetarian only) is delicious. Easdon Cottage sits in the midst of Dartmoor National Park and so the walking opportunities are wonderful. If we ever get the chance to go to England again, this B&B will be at the top of our list.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajaro_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manaton
1.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easdon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easdon Cottage

Property: Easdon Cottage
Address: Easdon Cottage Long Lane, Manaton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Manaton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing