We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surroundings - well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Becky Falls

Becky Falls
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Manaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note we temporarily closed for the season. We re-open 11th February 2017.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
583 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings - well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We attepted to visit here last July but didn't manage it. So glad we made the effort to go this time despite the wind and rain. The entrance fee wasn't very expensive and we spent at least 2 hours ambling around. The staff in the cafe where you pay for the tickets were helpful in explaining the different routes na dserving the most tasty bacon rolls which we had before we set off on our adventure. We did te blue route and then continued to the red route which led to some fantastic views of the falls which were looking wild with the wind and rain. We decided against the purple route due to the rain and my other half having had a knee operation a short while ago - we didn't want to risk it! There are animals to look at as well - brilliant time was had by all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    114
    68
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Becky falls three years ago and had to come back, it's money well spent, great for children of all ages with the red and blue nature trails, interactive activities, I would come again and again we went in the rain and it just added to the magic of the forest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Came across Becky Falls after picking up a leaflet at the caravan site we were stopping at (It contained a £2.00 discount voucher) and I'm really glad I did.
Becky falls is located at Manaton, right on the edge of Dartmoor and there is ample parking just across the road from the main site.
As you walk in from the car park you come across a very nice cafe where you pay your admittance price. The people in here were extreamly nice and they explained the difference between the 3 signposted walks. After having a reasonably priced drink we set out on the red route. Halfway around this we extended the walk by taking the purple route (most difficult). It had a steep climb but nothing too difficult really. After completing the purple route we rejoined the red route back up the side of the waterfall to the cafe area. Here they have a few animals (ponies,goats,rabbits) that you can get up close to. After another welcome cuppa we completed the easy route and went on to have a look around the reptile/education building.
Overall we really enjoyed our 4 hours at Becky Falls. Some reviews on here complain of having to pay an admission price to see the natural waterfalls and enjoy a country walk. But where else can you have a country walk on reguarly maintained paths, have a cafe and toilet block close by and have the knowledge that a qualified first aider is close by should you have an accident.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A bit steep, the purple trail that is...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent a good three hours here on an October Saturday as a family with two older children. It was a bit rainy for a start but became nicer later which probably accounts for the small number of people around at the start. At first we thought the entrance fee was a bit expensive but at the end of the three hours we thought it was reasonable value. The falls and walks are excellent, especially if you do the 'full monty' purple trail. They have a number of events throughout the day and we went to the 'Scary' animals show which was very good. Lots of good hands on experiences and an interesting and entertaining talk about the animals which included snakes and spiders. There are also a variety of other rescued animals such as owls, rabbits, goats and Shetland ponies. We also had a cream tea, muffin and drinks in the cafe which were also reasonable value for money too. Overall we had a lovely afternoon and would happily return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited here in September on a drizzly day. The staff were very friendly but I felt the entry fee was a little expensive. We began with looking around the animals and then walked the blue trail which is the easiest. We had lunch in the café which was okay but again expensive for what it was. We then followed the red trail to see the waterfall. It was lovely but not very fast flowing. Finally we diverted on to the purple route which is very hard going but worth it.

In summary...a nice place to visit but a little on the expensive side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lelkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becky Falls also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Becky Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing