We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C A
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday ”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful setting and the hospitality is great! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Thank you for your kind words it was lovely to see you again hope to see you again at Stonehayes, Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne26...
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place for young family”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for a week in Shippen with our baby and toddler and had a wonderful time. The accommodation is gorgeous and very comfortable. Our toddler absolutely loved the big play area, especially the trampoline and play house, and feeding the animals and collecting eggs every day. The welcome pack was lovely, including wine, eggs, bread and scones. We didn't have to bring all our baby gear as everything was provided. Lesley and Les were excellent hosts and we would definitely consider returning for another holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Thank you for your review we hope to see you again at Stonehayes Farm. Les & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meganadam...
1 review
“Amazing break”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was such a lovely experience, the kids absolutely loved feeding the animals and for the adults so relaxed! The town is very laid back and there are some great restaurants and pubs with beautiful gardens in the area. This is the third time we have returned to Stonehayes and will be back next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
We look forward to seeing you again at Stonehayes Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaLocke...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite place to stay in Devon!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Stonehayes at Easter and think this was our 9th or 10th visit! We have enjoyed many lovely holidays here with our children and have recommended to many friends who have also returned more than once. Every day you can go with Les or Lesley around the grounds to feed the animals and collect the eggs, Im not sure who enjoys this more the children or the adults! Having stayed in a few of the cottages I can say that they are all of an extremely high standard and always spotlessly clean. The welcome pack of homemade bread, eggs, milk, cakes is lovely after a long journey. So much to do in the surrounding area and lots you can do straight from your door. Particularly recommend a walk across the field to the river where our children always enjoy a paddle in their wellies! A BBQ down by the river is a must in good weather. Looking forward to our visit next year, we always feel at home and so welcome, we love it. Lisa, Chris, Bella & Olivia Lockley

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thank you for all your kind words we do really enjoy our job its like having friends coming back to stay. See you next year. Lesley & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZDWUJ
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
“Exactly like as seen in the pictures - Wonderful”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Everything worked out as written and promissed.
The Granery is just great.
Also the whole farm is very lovely.
All the sheep and the other animals.
The kids could help to feed the lambs and other animals.
Trampoline, playhouse and enough space to run around.
Unfortunately we did not have enough time to enjoy enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Stayed toooooo short
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you for your review hopefully we will see you again at Stonehayes and for longer next time. Best wishes Lesley and Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rwoolston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An idyllic spot for a great Devon holiday”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We returned to Stonehayes this year after our first visit last year (staying in Cider House, fantastic then too but didn't do TripAdvisor at the time). We stayed in Granary this time which is a bit bigger and has direct access to the play area for our young children (3 & 6). The place is in a beautiful location, the properties are all fantastic and different to suit different family sizes and needs. Granary is huge with loads of space for our little family of four. Every detail has been thought about and nothing is too much trouble, little touches like fresh flowers in the property, homemade bread, butter and jam and a bottle of wine also add to a very special welcome. Our girls love (as did all the other children there) feeding the animals on the farm and collecting the eggs from the chickens. A short walk down the hill from the farm there is also a picture perfect river with a camp fire/bbq area and after a short wade through the river a little wooden den which the girls loved exploring.

We love Stonehayes and will return, we can't recommend it highly enough, it's a special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thank you for all your kind words we really do enjoy our job. We want to make sure when families come to Stonehayes Farm they can truly relax and enjoy there holiday and to see the children having so much fun and freedom to run around makes it all worthwhile.
Lesley & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applemarm...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing family break in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I stayed at Stonehayes Farm with our one year old and had a very relaxing holiday. The accommodation - Shippen - was spacious, light and well furnished. The kitchen was spotless and very well equipped. We explained to Les that we had a young baby and arrived to find she had set up cot, stairgate and provided a highchair, two boxes of lovely toys, a bouncer and plastic cutlery and plates. She also babysat one night so my husband and I could have dinner at a local pub. It made our lives so much easier! Our little boy loved running around the large lawn area, and playing on the swing and slide. We were delighted to find that there were around 29 baby lambs in the field below as well as baby pigs and free range chickens walking past the back door. This was a brilliant chance for our son to see farm animals close up and Les was extremely kind, taking us round each evening to feed the animals and collect eggs from the chickens. Not to mention providing us with freshly baked bread and their own sausages and bacon! The countryside around was beautiful, Honiton had a brilliant butchers and some other good shops and we had a lovely trip to the beach at Lyme Regis. Would warmly recommend for families with young children who want lovely natural surroundings, space to run around and kind and helpful hosts.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again. We are always trying to improve and add new equipment to make the perfect holiday.
Thank you

Lesley & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing