We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quiet Devon Location”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Lakeview Manor is in a wonderful setting in the rolling Devon landscape. The rooms are basic but satisfactory at the price paid £74.00 to include breakfast. Bathrooms especially shower would benefit from a good deep clean and let down the rest of the experience. Food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

The hotel is set in a good location with beautiful grounds. When we booked in we were given the key to the room and asked to find our own way. This would have been acceptable but unfortunately the stirs and the hall way were dark and have to struggle through. The room was tiny and no space to move around. The bath room was not very clean and again no space to put the used towels or our toiletries. The service was poor. We expected a better room and service for the price we paid

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sivamSouthCroydonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Fishponds House is now renamed Lakeview Manor. It is set in 45 acres of beautiful peaceful countryside with 3 fishing lakes. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but quite adequate. Excellent breakfast and although we did not dine in the evening, it has a good reputation for food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairyGlenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed for one night to break a journey to Cornwall from Kent. We had booked a family suite which was located in the courtyard area. The room was very basic and not all that comfortable. The worst aspect was the tired, unpleasant bathroom.

However, the main hotel and the service provided could not have been better. The staff were friendly and helpful, the welcome was warm and the evening meal delicious.

With a few improvements to the accommodation, this could be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Stayed here for a friends birthday celebration. It's in a beautiful location and aears to be an old cottage which has been extended and extended.
Location for a celebration is superb and if your aim to is stay here purely after a party the basic state of the rooms won't bother you. They are more MFI than habitat and no extras eg hairdriers,iron,toiletries.
Service boarded on Fawlty Towers at times but overall i ould definately return here for a party and it is a fantastic location for a wedding that wouldn't break the bank

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickihof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We had our wedding at Fishponds August 07. The hotel is full of character and in a beautiful setting. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made our wedding day run perfectly.
Every one of our guests commented on how wonderful the food was, I may be biased but I think it was some of the best wedding food I've ever tasted and was excellent value for money too, perfectly cooked roast beef followed by a choice of delicious deserts...the white chocolate cheesecake is highly recommended. We also had the hog roast in the evening which was a big hit with our guests.
We had first choice on all of the rooms at the hotel for our guests...in fact we had the whole hotel and at no extra cost....and the hotel took care of everything including booking a dj for evening entertainment. They even put up with my constant stream of pre wedding emails and queries, always getting back to me really quickly with the information I needed.
The accommodation was really nice, just what you'd expect from a small country hotel with some great wheelchair accessable rooms. They also have 3 beautiful lakes which used to belong to nearby Dunkeswell Abby where we spent a few hours fishing!
The whole place has a really relaxed 'nothing's too much trouble' atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We stayed here for a night for a friend's wedding, and it was just fantastic. The location is absolutely gorgeous for a wedding, and luckily the perfect sunny day added to that. The hotel is located pretty much in the middle of nowhere- in a lush, green, rural area, with trees and ponds for fishing.

The staff were helpful and attentive during the wedding; the food was delicious. The hotel has a glass conservatory where the wedding was held. The whole hotel is lovely and quaint. The bar is small with loads of character- the bartender was nice enough to stay open for us after the wedding! They sell a local beer, Otter Ale.

The room we were in was quite small & somewhat squishy, but we had our own ensuite bathroom. It was all clean and completely adequate for the one night stay. Other rooms were larger, and connected, with bath ensuite, which works perfectly for preparations for those in the wedding party.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silvermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
226 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing