We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for a chill out”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location for a chill out”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you want a place to forget about work and mobile phones this is the place for you . Excellent value for money( Deal cloud deal) food excellent, accommodation in the outside Stables room was fine with plentiful supplies of condiments and toiletries . Staff more than helpful and doing an excellent job. Lovely bar area to chill out in and quality of restaurant food is very good at a fair price for this wonderful and peaceful location. Would recommend to anyone and will return if heading west again without a doubt. Ignore the negative feedback comments and enjoy this hidden gem at a very very fair price. The first view you receive when you walk into the hotel is the cosy bar : Result ! what more welcome do you need ! To all the staff thank you for a great break. Mr & Mrs M.

Room Tip: The stables was nice and very warm with a comfy bed and about 20 metres from the hotel doorstep and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    91
    30
    15
    11
See reviews for
59
155
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Following our stay last year at the hotel we booked again for April and even the weather was great! On arrival sat outside overlooking one of the lakes eating delicious cream tea. Courtyard room ideal for our needs and the fishing was great. For any fishermen out there the bag from one afternoon's fish was 25 carp averaging between 6-8lbs. The staff as usual were lovely and when we arrived they were having problems with a power cut which was quickly sorted out, but the guy on reception kept us informed of progress without our needing to ask. The food in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner was well presented and cooked. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita_K227129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent staff were lovely Julie and her daughter were really helpful food was excellent cooked well tasty and wine breakfast was amazing tasty cream tea was nice room was lOvely best bed ever keep up the good work valuable for money will be visiting soon Susan from bham

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Lakeview Manor, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we always try our hardest to keep our guests happy during their stay. We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms, we are pleased to see that you were happy with your room.

So glad that you also enjoyed the food, All of which is locally sourced and cooked on site, your comments will be passed on to the chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My usual preference for chain type hotels went out of the window as there were non within a reasonable distance. Booked through LateRooms, I almost dismissed Lakeview as being too inexpensive.
The initial welcome is lacking, not helped by the fact the reception in not in line of sight when entering the building/bar and you find yourself stood at the bar waiting to be greeted only to hear a "can I help you ?" coming from 10ft to your right...
The room was clean but some fittings a little tired, lets call it character.
The evening meal was fantastic, steak done to perfection with a decent amount of chips and sides, shame the desert was microwaved, apple pie lacking in taste.
Breakfast was very good with minimal wait.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Took my wife, mother & mother in law plus 2 children for Sunday lunch, whilst the food was good, being mothers day it was very busy, there was only one chef at the carvery. Hence we all queued for 35 minutes to get our meal. I think this is unacceptable. We were sat in the marquee which was heated by a large blower type heater, which was fine until it was turned off towards the end of our main course. We really wanted to stay for a sweet & coffee and just relax after the meal, but the room went so cold we just paid the bill and left. Very disappointing, we wont be going back in a hurry, nor recommending. Such a shame not much thought gone into the preparation for the day by management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Will definitely stay at Lakeview Manor again. We had a warm friendly welcome and stayed in "little groom". It was small and cosy with an en suite bathroom which was spotlessly clean. We specifically asked for a double bed as don't like twin beds pushed together. We had very efficient, friendly service at the bar and restaurant. The food was plentiful and tasty. We went for a short stroll around the lakes and saw 4 deer and geese and 2 beautiful horses being hosed down by jodhpur clad riders in the stable area obviously after a long hack. Absolutely charming place and we look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Upon arrival the greeting was poor to non existent, we were just told where the room was, no time taken to advise us of what we could do or see whilst staying as this was a surprise present. When we found our way to the room there was no welcome pack or guide of information. The cooked breakfast was just warm and not freshly cooked just re-heated it would seem, the beans and sausage tasted off. The breakfast the following day was just as bad, i didnt have the full english owing to the day before, i had the fish with scrambled egg and muffin, another mistake i should of just had toast or gone to a cafe (pity there wasnt one). I feel the price of the food was expensive for what you received. We didnt eat an evening meal we found a better restaurant to eat in in the evening which was better value for money, as we were put off by the breakfast. The bar was not always attended so if you wanted another drink you had to wait for service or would of been quicker to help yourself!. In general I feel the only thing that was of any good was the location, makes me wonder why the name was changed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
452 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Tiverton
Travelodge Tiverton
#4 of 4 in Tiverton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
206 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
12.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Property: Lakeview Manor
Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing