We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome.....”
Review of Lakeview Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a weekend break at this hotel through a daily deal website and to be honest did not expect too much. In reality this hotel and the staff were both fantastic.
The hotel is set in 45 acres of grounds which include three lakes. The main grounds to the front of the hotel are stunning.
The rooms were very clean and fresh and contained everything you would need for a short break.
On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff who instantly created a friendly and caring impression. In fact over the couple of days we were there we felt completely at ease.
We ate at the hotel and the food was excellent. They have a great choice and will even prepare dishes not on the menu - my wife is a vegetarian and they did a special meal for her.
The choice of wine is good and not too pricey.
One word of caution - be careful if you use your satnav on shortest route setting. It will take you down about a mile of some extremely narrow lanes to get to the hotel. Keep to the main road and you avoid the very narrow lanes and it is only an extra mile.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnd316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 303 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Lakeview Manor at Dunkeswell is situated in a lovely picturesque location. With a friendly, warm, welcome this hotel is tucked away in the countryside. We stayed in the Lower Clock Tower, a three bedded accommodation which was beautifully fitted out and lovely and warm. The main hotel was just across the drive and here there was a well stocked bar and restaurant serving excellent food. If your're looking for a break away from the hustle, bustle of normal life this is the perfect location, especially as there is no network coverage for most mobile phones!!! However wifi is availabe. We only stayed two nights, but next time will definitely stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at end of October. Beautiful little hotel, bar and restaurant. Absolutely spotlessly clean and our room overlooking the front lake - with a four poster bed and very nice linen was wonderful. Lovely thick towels and toiletries provided, as well as teas, coffee, chocolate and biscuits. Warm and extremely comfortable; true luxury. I tried to be a Hotel Inspector to find a very small fault - but couldn't!. Food was superb; the chef is quite clearly a real chef and very talented. Breakfast was huge, as was the delicious evening meal, and everything was beautifully presented. Felt a little remote, although I would suggest a few small leaflets/maps in the Reception area may show visitors that there are some lovely places not too far away. ALL the staff are a credit to the Hotel, welcoming, polite, friendly and helpful. Altogether a wonderful little hotel in beautiful gardens with first class staff. We would definitely go back (with a map) in the summer. Thank you all!

Room Tip: Room 7 had a 4 poster bed and lovely views over the garden and lake. Didn't see any others so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here middle of Oct on Deal Cloud voucher. The place is very remote and we thought we would never find it! They cater mainly for weddings I think and it would make a lovely venue with added accomodation. Our room was very nice & especially warm as it was a bit dreary outside. It again was no 22. The bed was king size and I found it comfortable. we ate one night in the restaurant and it was a first class meal. All staff very friendly. Altogether a very nice stay. Our drive along the coast from Sidmouth to Lyme Regis was especially nice as well. Only marked average for service as they forgot to service our room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely location but to remote for me. Very friendly welcome by Kerrie. We had a newly decorated room in one of the outbuildings (room 22). Best walk in shower we have had in a room and lovely white towels with ample of little bottles of toiletries. The bed was very uncomfortable as I could feel the springs and the pillows were of poor quailty. All the staff I encontered were helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and found the food very nice.We also found a member of staff called Dom very obliging. Lovely grounds but I didn't enjoy driving in the dark down the country lanes.

Room Tip: One of the out buildings 21-24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koren04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here with a deal cloud voucher, very easy to book over the phone, the receptionist was very pleasant and efficient. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and we drove past it once as the sign only faces one way. It is situated down a very narrow country lane, not for the faint hearted! Check in was very pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. The room was a bit small but had all of the usual amenities and we are only going to sleep in the room. The bar is small and is what I would call 'local' but again good service and happy staff. Food order was taken quickly and we were shown to our table in a nice quiet setting. The food quality and presentation was outstanding, cooked perfectly and good portions, not expensive either, 3 courses and a bottle wine for 2 people less than £60:00. The staff seemed to be happy in there work and although some were not as talkative as others we were always made to feel welcome. No Phone signal (bliss) but free WIFI. Overall a really good experience and one that I will definitely be repeating soon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Baileys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Where does one start !
Upon arrival at 3pm and after a 400 mile drive we were looking for a rest in our room, this was not to be as there were men outside chopping hedges with chainsaws, no consideration at all for tired guests, why not do this work in the am ?
I booked as the hotel was "in" Honiton and the bedrooms had amazing views, well it is miles from Honiton in the middle of nowhere down a rough track lane, as for views no bedrooms have them and ours was of the car park. The rooms would win awards for smallness, they are tiny and there is no soundproofing, we could here the people above snoring ! The quality of the bedding is among the worst we have come across. The rooms really are awful and as if all this is not bad enough the lorries will wake you nice and early, one parked outside our room for nearly an hour with its engine running whilst the driver chatted with a staff member. The bar and Restuarant are completely devoid of atmosphere, whatever the deal - avoid it at all costs, the quality of your enjoyment here is not something that is considered by staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiton
6.1 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
61 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
8.4 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
226 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Manor

Address: Dunkeswell, Honiton EX14 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Honiton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Honiton
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Manor Hotel Honiton
Fishponds Hotel Honiton
Lakeview Manor Honiton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing