We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely pub with great food”
Review of Yarcombe Inn - CLOSED

Yarcombe Inn
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The historic Yarcombe Inn is a Grade II Listed Building situated on the A30 in East Devon, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Closed for over a year, it was rescued and run for over 3 years by a small but dedicated group of local people who re-awoke this wonderful old coaching inn, once more making it the heart and soul of the village. The award-winning Inn, which reverted back to private management in March 2013, is set in the beautiful village of Yarcombe nestling on the edge of the Blackdown Hills, and dates back almost a thousand years. It is said to have once belonged to the monks from Mont St Michel in France, and along with the rest of Yarcombe was later owned by Sir Francis Drake.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely pub with great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently visited Yarcombe as friends booked us into The Belfry for a birthday treat. They booked us into The Yarcombe Inn with them to celebrate and we had a fantastic evening. The food was great, service friendly and helpful and the pub made us very welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mthcmb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great traditional country pub”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had booked a table two weeks ago following the reviews and rankings was number one, was put off bythe reviews below but decided to give it a go. Charming country pub, attentive and welcoming staff and truely excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aljones78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little lonely”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having stayed at the Belfry for 5 nights (just opposite the Yarcombe Inn) we wandered across a few times. The people running the place seemed nice enough (and friendly)but there seemed to be a shortage of people frequenting the Inn Where have all the locals gone? I did not find this place inviting and can't say I would recommend it fora meal as you may end up eating alone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackief1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
For an overseas visitor you have accurately pinpointed the problems many pubs have in this country. Many are failing each week and it is particularly difficult being in a remote and sparsely-populated area like ours. We do have busy quiz and music nights and at other times support is often very good; the skittles season is about to start too. Diners are often more numerous too ,we are sure you will be pleased to hear. Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this pub for a meal after seeing this pub had won an award.What a disappointment the place was cold and decided to eat in bar as seemed slightly warmer than restaurant but not by much.The meal was just adequate as pub food but certainly not outstanding as other reviews have said,the menu was small with only one vegetarian dish.We asked for vegetables and were told you only got either potatoes or veg in the price so we paid £3 each extra for veg which we wouldn't,t have minded if there had been more but came in a ramikin size dish,the people who had chips had 8chips in a ramikin dish.Decaff coffee not available,all in all would say not a place I would rush back to as there are a lot of good food pubs around this area.Having read the reviews on trip advisor can only wonder if it is the same place we went to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 48pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
This is not the norm as you can see by other reviews so far. We are aware of the period in question when the temperature did indeed drop rather sharply. A very relevant point, which may/should have been mentioned by bar staff, is that the larger-capacity wood burner we have recently purchased had not yet been fully installed. This will be completed very soon. We are surprised by the stance on food but each customer comment is respected and acted upon where possible. The chips are triple-cooked and very chunky, so 8 represent a reasonable portion. Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great beer and good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Happened upon the Yarcombe by chance after a trip to the local Honiton Hill rally. I had not read TA reviews before hand and stopped more because of the beer festival signs.

Beer selection was really interesting and all (tried 4) in good condition.

ordered food cos kids wanted to eat....and what a cracking find. The smoked mackerel (home smoked) lite meals were probably the best value and presented dish I've seen for a few years. £3.50 for two fillets, potatoe salad, coleslaw and green salad...with interesting dressings. Most impressed.. kids loved the steamed mussels.

shame i only pass this way once a year.....splendid place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrdofromsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarcombe-Inn-Bod, Manager at Yarcombe Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarcombe Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing